Jump to content



Photo

Data Mine


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Decker1613

Decker1613

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 12:24 PM

So, how does this work? There is no name on it other then trap. does this mean that it go's off or who can attack it? I would love to know how this card works.

Thank you

 



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,331 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 12:37 PM

Currently pretty much every icebreaker we have would not be able to break it as they all break specific icebreaker types. Now if you were to say play Tinkering on it or use Crypsis that would be a way around it.



#3 malkavianprank

malkavianprank

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 03:16 PM

Or Wyrm *grinning* can break it.

 

its whether a barrier nor code gate or sentry… so the subroutines go off does it netdamage and is discarded



#4 Decker1613

Decker1613

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:09 AM

So is that the official ruling, or just what everyone does? If I do the tournaments at my shop and people ask about that, do I say that there are answers for the rules? I would agree on all three of these cards being the answer, but do you think that FFG will put out a ruling on this card? Or do they say what was said on the forum is the rule? BTW, thank you for answering my question and I want to let you guys know, you rock. Keep the smile on.



#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,331 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:33 AM

You don't need a ruling on that. The rules clearly support exactly what we have said.

Data Mine is a Trap ice. None of the icebreakers we have currently target specifically trap subtype. However icebreakers like Crypsis and Wyrm do not target a specific type of ice and can therefore be used against any ice. So they can be used to break the subroutine on Data Mine. If broken it's subroutine does not trigger and the Data Mine would not be trashed.



#6 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:34 AM

Decker1613 said:

So is that the official ruling, or just what everyone does? If I do the tournaments at my shop and people ask about that, do I say that there are answers for the rules? I would agree on all three of these cards being the answer, but do you think that FFG will put out a ruling on this card? Or do they say what was said on the forum is the rule? BTW, thank you for answering my question and I want to let you guys know, you rock. Keep the smile on.

 

You don't need a "ruling", official or otherwise. All you need is in the rules and on the cards. Icebreakers that break only sentry, code gate or barrier subroutines cannot break the subroutine on Datamine. Icebreakers that do not specify a type of ice for which they are eligible to break subroutines (currently Crypsis, and the awful, awful Wyrm), can break it. It can by bypassed by effects that allow you to bypass ice (at least those effects we currently have in the game, as they have no type restriction). It's all there in the rules and on the cards … there's no special trick to this :)



#7 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:37 AM

 And now I look like a copy cat, as Toq managed to post the exact same thing a couple of seconds earlier :D






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS