Jump to content



Photo

Word of Misery


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Bravo McWilley

Bravo McWilley

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 04:06 AM

Question about how this card works: It states that for this turn, each time a hero suffers a heart, that hero suffers 1 fatigue in addition to the heart suffered.

 

For a 0 cost basic card this card seems highly powerful. Used on any turn where the OL has many monsters who can attack each monster attacking is essentially doubling its damage as the heroes will be out of fatigue quickly, thus forced to suffer additional hearts in place of the fatigue loss.

 

For example, in our game the other day, we were playing Castle Darion. Turn 2 i think where the OL had 1 master ettin, 1 minion ettin, Alric, and some sorcs, most of which could attack either the heroes or Sir Palomin. Hitting Sir Palomin with a red ettin did 6 hearts…he has no fatigue, so he should take 12 Damage? Same for a hero who gets hit for 6 damage and who has no fatigue left?

 

Just want to make sure we played this right…It seems super powerful, especially for a 0 exp starting card…I could understand it if it was only one fatigue loss for the entire hit amount (6 Damage + 1 fatigue), but this other way is just crazy.

 

Thoughts?



#2 Carnagecjb

Carnagecjb

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 04:33 AM

 I don't have the card in front of me, so I'm not 100% on the wording, but it is something along the lines of:

Any time a hero suffers any hearts, he also suffers one fatigue.

The way my group and I have always interpreted it, a hero will only get hit with one fatigue loss each attack, not one fatigue loss per wound…



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 05:18 AM

Carnagecjb said:

Any time a hero suffers any hearts, he also suffers one fatigue.

The way my group and I have always interpreted it, a hero will only get hit with one fatigue loss each attack, not one fatigue loss per wound…

This. WoM is nice against NPCs the OL needs to kill as they tend to have 0 stamina.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 Rhapso

Rhapso

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 06:45 AM

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/descent-second-ed/support/Descent%20Second%20Edition%20FAQ.pdf
 
Q: Does “Word of Misery” cause a hero to suffer 1 fatigue for each damage 
suffered?
A: No, “Word of Misery” causes a hero to suffer 1 fatigue each time he 
would suffer any amount of damage. For example, if a hero suffers 3 

damage, he would suffer 1 fatigue in addition to the 3 damage he suffered. 



#5 Bravo McWilley

Bravo McWilley

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:15 AM

Thanks for the reply guys. We obviously played that wrong.



#6 MyNeighbourTrololo

MyNeighbourTrololo

    the Opener of Ways

  • Members
  • 1,994 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:19 PM

I wonder what happens if you hit a 0 fatigue hero while word of misery is active…

If you follow the rules, when hero is instructed to suffer fatigue and he has a zero stamina left - he suffers damage instead. And suffering another damage triggers another fatigue, which effectively an instant kill of any zero stamina hero.


That's cursed table-talk, and I'll stick you, if you don't shut it down, see?'


#7 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 12:37 AM

"Q: If a hero has suffered fatigue equal to his Stamina and is affected by
“Word of Misery,” would the damage he suffers in place of the fatigue trigger
the effect again?
A: No." (FAQ, p. 3)


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS