Jump to content



Photo

Shadow cloak and surges


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Zut the Overlady

Zut the Overlady

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:46 PM

Hi all!

During the last game, we had a debate about the ability of an Act 1 shop item. I don't have the card with me, but I think the name of the item is Shadow Cloak (it costs 75 gp). It works somewhat like the Shadow ability of the Shadow Dragon, but for a hero: the monster has to "waste" a surge.

The overlord rolled three surges. He could use two of them, but he didn't have a third ability to spend on the last one. Could the cloak be used to waste one of the used surges, or does it necessarily apply to the third unused one?

 

Thanks!



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 09:58 PM

Heavy Cloak is exhausted after the dice are rolled to cancel a surge, but that comes before the Spend Surges step in combat.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,554 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 03:24 AM

Dam said:

Heavy Cloak is exhausted after the dice are rolled to cancel a surge, but that comes before the Spend Surges step in combat.

+1

Both for the Heavy Cloak and for the Shadow Dragon ability, the surge that these effects force you to "waste" is removed before the attacking player begins spending surges on anything. If the Overlord player in the example given only had practical use for two of the three surges rolled, then he was lucky he didn't need the third. Had only two surges been rolled, he would've had only one to spend on anything after the Heavy Cloak removed the other.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS