Jump to content



Photo

The Claret Knight


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sadric

Sadric

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 09:05 PM

After reading the topic on Station Eismette/Deranged Diva javascript:void(0);/*1352624317053*/ I think about claret knight 

The Claret Knight

Her Sworn Champion
Type: Character Faction: Neutral
Cost: 3 Skill: 1 Icons: (T)©(A)(I)
Game Text:
Servitor.
Immune to triggered effects.
Response: After a Tactic card is played, ready The Claret Knight.
Set: SoK
Number: 38
Illustrator: Bryce Cook

 

He is immune to triggered effects, so it is also immune to his own triggered effect.

He will ever use his response?

There is something I miss or there is a error in the concept of the card?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#2 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,146 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 02:06 PM

I don't think a Response is a triggered effect.



#3 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,025 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 08:05 PM

dboeren said:

I don't think a Response is a triggered effect.

Of course it is. Even a Forced Response is (although it's not a player triggered effect). In other words: Claret Knight requires errata.



#4 HilariousPete

HilariousPete

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 09:21 PM

I see it the same way as jhaelen. Either the Claret Knight needs and erratum, or the section in the FAQ about immunity needs to be changed to exclude that cards can be immune against their own effects. Perhaps you should send a short note to Damon.



#5 .Zephyr.

.Zephyr.

    Member

  • Members
  • 309 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 05:34 AM

 Looks like a small fail. (or i dont know something)

I really think cards should have design comments on designers intentions posted online, mostly to explain to new players some details of how a given card work in some situations, but it would also help experienced players with some cards with non-standard wording.

Maybe some extrapolation of golden rule could be used to explain this Responce is more important than immunity, but I think next FAQ should have a note on this interaction. Maybe a small errata.



#6 HilariousPete

HilariousPete

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 08:34 AM

Hi Sadric,

did you send a rules question to Damon? I'm asking because it would be good to know if immunity also applies to a card's own effects (e.g. Dr. Carson wouldn't work with Eismitte in play, I believe) and I'm thinking about a thematic Explorers (M.U.) + Elder Things deck, with Reawakened and Reckless Elder Things being protected by Eismitte before themselves :-)



#7 Danigral

Danigral

    Member

  • Members
  • 801 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 09:38 AM

 Just fyi, this is how it is in AGoT, so maybe there was a little bit of cross-over haze for Damon on this one. 



#8 HilariousPete

HilariousPete

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:32 AM

You were right Danigral, it's the same as in AGoT. Q+A from Damon Stone:

Q: Is the Claret Knight's Response ever usable? (It's a triggered effect, and he's immune to such effects due to his passive ability. Erratum?)

A: A card can never be immune to its own effect.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS