Jump to content



Photo

Question about Philsopher ability and Dragon cards


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sanityismyvanity

sanityismyvanity

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 11:43 AM

If the Philosopher lands on a space that has a face up card from one of the 3 Draconic Lord decks, and he decides to use his discard ability on the card, when drawing a replacement card to encounter do you:

 

Draw an Adventure/Dungeon/Highlands card (depending on the region they currently are in)?

 

OR

 

Draw a Draconic Lord card that matches the same deck of the discarded one?

 

OR

 

Choose between the two options above at the players discretion?



#2 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,334 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:21 PM

The first option is correct!

Ell.



#3 sanityismyvanity

sanityismyvanity

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 04:05 AM

Excellent! Thanks!



#4 0beron

0beron

    Member

  • Members
  • 710 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:09 PM

talismanamsilat said:

The first option is correct!

Ell.

While the Philosopher's ability is to discard/pull "Adventure" cards (of whatever region), the "Dragon" cards are the result of interactions with Dragon scales? Is that why? The scales are independent of space instructions to pull cards.



#5 GrimGuvna

GrimGuvna

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:14 PM

Special abilities and effects that apply to Adventure Cards also
apply to Dragon Cards but only after they have been drawn
and placed on the board.

From the dragon rulebook.

In essence once the Dragon card has come into play it becomes an adventure card as such.  The philosphers special ability applies to adventurecards.  As far as I am aware there is nothing that can influence a Dragon deck directly.



#6 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

    Member

  • Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 11:49 PM

GrimGuvna said:

Special abilities and effects that apply to Adventure Cards also
apply to Dragon Cards but only after they have been drawn
and placed on the board.

From the dragon rulebook.

In essence once the Dragon card has come into play it becomes an adventure card as such.  The philosphers special ability applies to adventurecards.  As far as I am aware there is nothing that can influence a Dragon deck directly.

Yes there is a item from one of the dragondecks that can.



#7 GrimGuvna

GrimGuvna

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 04:42 AM

Dragon Lore (Magic Object)

Whenever you draw Dragon Cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more card from the same deck to replace it, which you must encounter.
If you are defeated by a Cultist, you must ditch the Dragon Lore.

Aye, forgot about that one.  Thanks for reminding me.

It kinda makes good sense that only something gained from a dragon deck can affect the dragon deck.  Gives the impression of great forces and events beyond the manipulation of mere forces are at work.

The Dragon expansion is a great expansion.  I hope to see further "Epic Level" Expansions like Undead lords or Demonic invasion etc.  Keep em coming Mr Goodenough and team






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS