Jump to content



Photo

recruiting to activation tokens


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 TycoonOfDoom

TycoonOfDoom

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:27 AM

I apologize that I don't have the rulebook with me, but somewhere in it (I think either under "recruit" or "activation tokens") it says that you can recruit to activation tokens.

In our game this past weekend, I abused the hell out of this - using the supremacy bonus (on one of the order cards - i think Mobilize) to "activate a second area…as long as it doesn't start another battle."  So I would activate an emtpy area but not move any units to it, and then later in the year recruit to that activation token.

Now there is some debate about the ability to recruit to an activation token.  Only in one section of the rule book does it mention that possibility and no where else.

Can anyone shed some light on whether or not this is officially in the rules?  I believe I did my homework by searching these forums before I posted but I saw nothing on this topic.  I read about a revised rulebook coming in a new version - perhaps someone has a glimpse of that?

Thanks!



#2 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,924 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:07 AM

Activation tokens have no bearing on recruitment.  You can only recruit into Strongholds.  This applies whether the stronghold is activated or not.  IE, while you cannot mobilize into a previously-activated Stronghold, when you use Recruit, you can place new units there.

Perhaps this was the source of the confusion?  IE, you CAN recruit into an area with an activation token…  but only if that area has one of your Strongholds in it.  (see pages 14 and 35, where both talk about placing the recruited units into "friendly strongholds")

I'm guessing the section you are referring to is on page 17?  That section isn't really talking about other aspects of recruiting, but is just reinforcing that activation tokens do not prevent you from recruiting; it doesn't mean that any area with an activation token is fair game.  Note that you use Mobilize or Conquer, you can place an activation token ANYWHERE on the board; you don't have to actually move units there.  Thus, if you were allowed to recruit at any activated area, you could activate an area completely across the board, then recruit units there during your next order.



#3 Athelas Loraiel

Athelas Loraiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:11 PM

Please explain a few more things.

 

do activation tokens have any bearing to another player wanting to activate same area?

 

can a player use same area to activate again this year or is it once activated excluded from players attack moves this year again?

 

what is actualy the use of a tactics card that sets enemy activation token to any space on map? What would be the abuse?



#4 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,924 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:59 AM

I answered those questions in the other thread :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS