Rules intimidation - Is it worth learning

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jimson

Jimson

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 04:42 PM

I've been reading over the rules and forums, and posting recent question on Ki rules.  After all this reading, I'm beginning to get intimidated by the rules.  I've been playing RPG's for over 10 years.  I've played D&D 3/3.5, very little Mage (World of Darkness), Shadowrun, Deadlands, and Star Wars d20.  I think Shadowrun is probably the most comparable to Anima as far as character options, and Deadlands comparison of complex combat.  It seems there are a lot of questions that people post on the boards and wondering if I'll be spending a lot of time on here trying to figure this out.  So I guess I'm looking to you guys for advice.  Are things fairly simple at 1st level?  I'll be the one explaining the game/rules/settings to my players, so I want to make sure its worth while, and also not scare my players away with the complexity.  

#2 Beadle

Beadle

• Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 08:38 PM

Probably the most complicated part is Character Creation.  Once you've got that down, the rest tends to flow pretty well.  There may be a few little ideosyncracies, particularly with certain Magic spells, but otherwise I actually find it pretty simple to play.

And as to whether it's worth it… yes.  It's the best RPG I've ever played, both in terms of mechanics and the lore surrounding it.

#3 Jimson

Jimson

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:11 AM

Wow!  That's quite the backing statement.  Glad to hear you enthusiasm for the game.  I started reading the setting (taking a break from rules reading) and pretty impressed so far, although I'm not too far into it.