Jump to content



Photo

Can't even get the Errata right?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JamWarrior

JamWarrior

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 06:30 AM

Page 2 of the Errata.  Why does the GM add two Challenge and one Misfortune dice?  It says on the same page that the standard challenge level for a spell is 0d.  I see one challenge dice from the card, one misfortune from the enemy's defence, and one more misfortune from the card's special text.

Are they saying defence = Challenge die now?  Because that's not what the rulebook says.  Rulebook says in both in the main text and the worked example that defence = Misfortune die.

Love this system but the rules are explained so very badly…



#2 thePREdiger

thePREdiger

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 05:57 PM

A spell is normally against Difficulty Simple (0d) but in that case it is against "TARGET DEFENSE" which is default Difficulty Easy (1d).

This is why there are 2 purple ;)

as you quoted - it is already in the text above ;)

(also all factors are highlighted on the spell action card which cause the dice pool to look like this)



#3 JamWarrior

JamWarrior

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 09:08 PM

Whoops.  I somehow entirely missed that paragraph at the top of the page that explains the second purple dice.

But then why only one black dice?  Surely it should be 1 for the targets defence rating, and 1 for the circled bit of the card?

Unless the circled bit of the card about additional enemies in range isn't applying in the example given.  In which case why the hell use a card with that bit of text as your example and circle it?!



#4 thePREdiger

thePREdiger

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:42 PM

"All three highlighted sections affect this spell’s dice pool. So if this action
is used against a target with a Defence rating of 1, the GM adds a total
of <P><P><B> to the action’s dice pool."

The card says "apply <B> for each enemy AFTER the first" so if there is only one opponent the text does not trigger a <B>



#5 JamWarrior

JamWarrior

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 05:02 AM

So not technically wrong.

Just a terrible action card to use for your example.

How anyone thought that saying 'all the circled bits of the card apply' and then circling a condition that in your example is actually doing nothing, would do anything other than sow more confusion, is beyond me.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS