Normally speaking the rules say that disrupted squads can't defend against assaults and the OP card "desperate defenders"reads that pinned and disrupted squads can still make a concentrated attack at half firepower. The question is whether defending against an assault qualifies as an "attack". Lietrally I suppose it doesn't, but it just adds a tiny bit more teeth to the card, which I feel is often warranted and perhaps sometimes at least, even intended. Therefore I always allow disrupted squads to still defend at half strength in an assault. How do you play this?