Jump to content



Photo

Knights of the Blazing Sun


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 707 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 12:32 PM

This unit cannot be corrupted.

Does his constant effect prevents it from entering play corrupted via Warpstone Excavation/Pleasure Cults? According to FAQ units that enter play corrupted don't change their states:

Q: If I control Fellblade (CC 100) and my opponent plays a unit into a zone containing a Warpstone Excavation (CS 116), is the unit considered to have been corrupted, allowing me to put a resource token on Fellblade?
A: No. A unit that enters play in a particular state is not considered to have changed states. So in this case there is nothing being corrupted to trigger Fellblade. However, if a unit already in play moves to the zone that contains Warpstone Excavation, then it is considered to have been corrupted and a resource token would be placed on Fellblade.



#2 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:26 PM

I think not. This is my explanation:

 

When you play a card, this is placed in a " non zone" where, unless otherwise specified, all effects that this card has, are not yet active.
The constant effects of WE and PC cards, that are being in the game are already active and affect the card, in the "non zone", because they states: "… units enters this zone corrupted … " so when acting their effect, that of the Knights, in this case, is not yet active.



#3 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 06:30 AM

I think you can argue that it enters play corrupted, but then immediately restores itself.  The cards text is just a constant effect that it cannot be corrupted (i.e. cannot be in a corrupted state).  That effect is always active, and "cannot" overrules most other things in the rules.  If the effect said "cannot become corrupted" then I would say that Warpstone corrupts it before its effect is active, but as it is I think his rules text prevents him from being in a corrupted state while he is in play. 

I'd just send it as a rules question though, and let us know what they say.



#4 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 707 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 08:04 AM

Entropy42 said:

I think you can argue that it enters play corrupted, but then immediately restores itself.  The cards text is just a constant effect that it cannot be corrupted (i.e. cannot be in a corrupted state).  That effect is always active, and "cannot" overrules most other things in the rules.  If the effect said "cannot become corrupted" then I would say that Warpstone corrupts it before its effect is active, but as it is I think his rules text prevents him from being in a corrupted state while he is in play. 

I'd just send it as a rules question though, and let us know what they say.

I don't think that constant effects work when units aren't in play. So yeah, one can say that it enters play corrupted and then immediately restores itself. You're assuming that if card cannot be corrupted it can't be in a corrupted state by any means, however I think it was meant to prevent state changes after card has entered play (and as I pointed out units that enter play corrupted don't change their state).

Thanks for response, as always it's greatly appreciated.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS