Jump to content



Photo

Sacrificial Construct vs. Trash as Cost


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BlackPaladin

BlackPaladin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:04 AM

 Looking for an official developer ruling on this one, as it's currently causing some consternation over on Board Game Geek:

 

If a program or piece of hardware has "trash this card" as part of its cost (e.g., the upcoming Cortez Chip), can Sacrificial Construct be used to prevent that card being trashed? Or does the act of preventing the trashing of the card also prevent the effect that happens because of it?

 

Thanks!



#2 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,409 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:10 AM

It's also an interrogation on the French forum (and very probably elsewhere) since Cortez Chip has been revealed. However, FFG officials do not answer questions posted here, but only questions directly sent to them (using the "Rules Questions" link at the bottom of the page).



#3 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:22 AM

 Of course, one shouldn't apply rules from one game to another, but I think it's likely that we'll find out that it plays similarly to how it does in the Game of Thrones LCG (i.e. you cannot save a card from being discarded as a cost, as that would mean you haven't successfully paid the cost to trigger the action in the first place). But Lukas might surprise us, so I'm curious to hear about the official response if anyone is sending it in.



#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,140 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:44 AM

If you were to do that the cost would no longer be paid and the effect would not resolve just like in AGoT. Which is what my answer was going to be anyway.

And before you ask yes this is the official response from Lucas who I already emailed when I first saw this question before I responded.



#5 BlackPaladin

BlackPaladin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:46 AM

Toqtamish said:

If you were to do that the cost would no longer be paid and the effect would not resolve. And before you ask yes this is the official response from Lucas who I already emailed when I first saw this question before I responded. This is what my answer was going to be anyway but figured would not be happy without an official response.

I appreciate it. Thanks!



#6 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 09:20 PM

<reply just to mark the thread as read>






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS