Jump to content



Photo

Some questions after few hours of playing…


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Rhapso

Rhapso

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 01:19 PM

Hi!

 
This weekend we have been playing quite a few hours at my new favorite game table and several questions have arisen:
 
 
1. - The card from SS "bloodthirsty Fury" says: Play this card at the end of your turn and choose a monster. That monster immediately performs two actions of attack, and then is defeated.
 
With reinforcements arriving early shift, no problem, but what about the reinforcements that arrive at the end of the shift, such as the first meeting of the adventure "Daerion Castle" which says: At the end of each shift the Supreme Lord, he can place one monster of one of its free groups …
 
You could use the card to attack 2 times, defeating the monster, then it reappeared as a booster? or would have to wait until the end of the next turn?
 
2. - Another question I have is when the order to resolve the fighting. For rules says that the dice are thrown all at once, but then one chooses to perform before movements with those rolls? for example, there is a shield that can win one of defense, and spiders have different increments, to assign +1 damage or poisoning. Who decides before their actions?
 
If for example the dice have come to the defense shields 2 and 3 injuries and 1 increment for the attacker (spiders), the SS might decide to use this increase to use the poison, but then the hero could use his shield ability to win 1 shield and not damaged. Then the SS could play that card that assigns an increase to an attack, and assign the +1 wound of spiders? etc.
 
SPOILER
 
3. - In the second match Daerion Castle, Sir Palamon is gaining fatigue points as you congregating defenders. If it is sick, and the test fails, you lose one of those points of fatigue? life or lose by not having endurance in your apartment?
 
END SPOILER
 
 Lots of thanks! 
 
P.S.: Sorry for my googled english…
 


#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:24 PM

Rhapso said:

1. - The card from SS "bloodthirsty Fury" says: Play this card at the end of your turn and choose a monster. That monster immediately performs two actions of attack, and then is defeated.

 
With reinforcements arriving early shift, no problem, but what about the reinforcements that arrive at the end of the shift, such as the first meeting of the adventure "Daerion Castle" which says: At the end of each shift the Supreme Lord, he can place one monster of one of its free groups …
Yes. A just eliminated monster can come back as a reinforcement.
 
Rhapso said:
2. - Another question I have is when the order to resolve the fighting. For rules says that the dice are thrown all at once, but then one chooses to perform before movements with those rolls? for example, there is a shield that can win one of defense, and spiders have different increments, to assign +1 damage or poisoning. Who decides before their actions?
The order of combat is given in the rukes :
- Declare weapon and target
- Roll dice (attacker's and defender's)
- Check range (if non melee weapon)
- Spend surges
- Deal damage
 
So, in the case of spiders, they decide after all the dice were rolled.
I am not sure, but I think that in the case of an attack that affects more than one target, the attacker decides, after all individual target rolls were made, what use he makes of his surges - but must use the same surge effects for all his attacks.
 
 
Rhapso said:
3. - In the second match Daerion Castle, Sir Palamon is gaining fatigue points as you congregating defenders. If it is sick, and the test fails, you lose one of those points of fatigue? life or lose by not having endurance in your apartment?
The fatigue tokens on Sir Palamon are just reminders of the times he successfully summoned militia men - one could use other markers to avoid any confusion, IMO.
It has nothing to do with normal fatigue.
As he can do no action.
If he is victim of a condition, such as disease or poison, he tests his attribute and, if he fails, suffers the effect (note that stun or immobilize won't have any effect, as he cannot make actions nor move).

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Rhapso

Rhapso

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:03 AM

Robin said:



Rhapso said:
2. - Another question I have is when the order to resolve the fighting. For rules says that the dice are thrown all at once, but then one chooses to perform before movements with those rolls? for example, there is a shield that can win one of defense, and spiders have different increments, to assign +1 damage or poisoning. Who decides before their actions?
The order of combat is given in the rukes :
- Declare weapon and target
- Roll dice (attacker's and defender's)
- Check range (if non melee weapon)
- Spend surges
- Deal damage

So, in the case of spiders, they decide after all the dice were rolled.
I am not sure, but I think that in the case of an attack that affects more than one target, the attacker decides, after all individual target rolls were made, what use he makes of his surges - but must use the same surge effects for all his attacks.

 

 

Many thanks for all your answers!

Responses 1 and 3 are perfect :), but the truth is that I still have a lot of doubts about question 2…

What if the hero can re-roll a dice? and if the overlord may also do a re-roll? who decides before? and if the hero wants to add a shield? and if the OL can play a card that adds an increase?

I think there are many skills, cards and powers interacting in combat, and I have nothing clear who starts deciding their actions as the fight continues…

 

P.S.: Sorry for my googled english…



#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:02 AM

I do have the same questions…

We play that, if an attacker can reroll dice (cf. Widow Tahra's skill) he does it before the defender does.

Don't worry for your English - it is not my first language either (but it was the first one I spoke, from a chronological point of view), I speak and write French much better.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#5 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:41 PM

In my experience it all doesn't matter who will decide to re-roll first as long as you give time to other side to make his/hers decisions in response to your re-roll.

Technically re-rolls should happen at the same time (just as the original attack & defence rolls) but we all know it is not feasible.  :)



#6 Rhapso

Rhapso

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 02:18 AM

so… nobody knows the official answer? 



#7 AnimalKDR

AnimalKDR

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 03:21 AM

 i thought I remember reading in the rules somewhere, that if there are any instances of things occurring simultaneously, then the player who's turn it is gets to decide the order they are resolved.

So if the ol attacks a hero with a shield, he can have the player resolve his shield use before he plays any "after attack roll" cards or spends surges.  That's how we play it at least, though in practice I often forget what heroes have after attack roll abilities and often declare surges and play cards before them.



#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,607 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 04:23 PM

AnimalKDR said:

 i thought I remember reading in the rules somewhere, that if there are any instances of things occurring simultaneously, then the player who's turn it is gets to decide the order they are resolved.

Indeed, you did.  It's one the "Golden Rules" on page 18:

"Timing conflicts may arise when two or more players
wish to use an ability with the same triggering
condition. In these situations, the current player (the
player who is currently taking his turn) decides the
order in which the abilities are resolved."

Disclaimer: I have a working hypothesis that anything a player is able to do in the game qualifies as an ability.  FFG was unfortunately vague about what exactly constitutes "an ability" in the rulebook. (I know there are some picky players out there who like to argue that this or that is not "an ability" in order to get around ability-related restrictions.  Those players can figure out timing conflicts for dice rolls on their own time.)

 



#9 Scoovex

Scoovex

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:33 AM

Robin said:

Rhapso said:

 
So, in the case of spiders, they decide after all the dice were rolled.
I am not sure, but I think that in the case of an attack that affects more than one target, the attacker decides, after all individual target rolls were made, what use he makes of his surges - but must use the same surge effects .

 

hmm. so if i am a runemaster using arcane bolt, and exploding rune which is a flip for blast ability,  and i roll a surge you are saying that i am going to be able to use pierce 2 on my target and every adjacent monster.  seems almost OP.



#10 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:17 AM

Scoovex said:

hmm. so if i am a runemaster using arcane bolt, and exploding rune which is a flip for blast ability,  and i roll a surge you are saying that i am going to be able to use pierce 2 on my target and every adjacent monster.  seems almost OP.
It is powerful in that case, yes.
What would you do in that case?
Not apply Pierce to the blast effect if you have a surge?
What other surge effects would you not apply?
 


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#11 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:31 AM

Scoovex said:

hmm. so if i am a runemaster using arcane bolt, and exploding rune which is a flip for blast ability,  and i roll a surge you are saying that i am going to be able to use pierce 2 on my target and every adjacent monster.  seems almost OP.

Why is the OL, knowing Exploding Rune is in play, putting his monsters where blast can affect more than one? Stupid OL =/= OP skill.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#12 Scoovex

Scoovex

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 12:37 AM

Robin,  don't know, maybe only apply the pierce so it takes off the first shields and then assume the blast has a reduced effect on the remaining mobs.

D, ageed. the ol was playing it a bit to liberal and got the fat gob and the gob henchmen all toasted. he assumed the pierce was only good for the first target not all. not a biggy, in the end even doing it his way, the heroes came through :



#13 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:55 AM

Scoovex said:

Robin,  don't know, maybe only apply the pierce so it takes off the first shields and then assume the blast has a reduced effect on the remaining mobs.

The surge effects only affect the target of the attack, not other figures "affected by the attack."  Interesting idea, and somewhat in keeping with those that argue that you can't use defensive abilities unless you are the original target …



#14 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 08:50 PM

Blast does state that target space and every adjacent space are affected and each figure affected rolls defense dice, with only one attack dice roll being made and those results applied to all figures affected.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS