Jump to content



Photo

Investigation Struggle


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Iniche

Iniche

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 08:59 AM

 Question: If the active player ends up losing characters to the terror or combat struggles and no longer has any character committed to the story, does the opposing player continue with resolving the investigation and arcane struggles? Or, does the story card immediately stop being resolved because the active player no longer has a committed character?



#2 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,149 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:38 AM

The rest of the struggles still resolve.



#3 .Zephyr.

.Zephyr.

    Member

  • Members
  • 309 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:49 AM

 I see no reason to stop resolving stories. (i might be wrong on this though)

There are two rules in the FAQ:

 

1)Stories will resolve only if the active player has characters at that story.
2)Additionally, if a story card is won by any player before it is resolved (i.e., at any point during the story resolution sequence), all success tokens are removed from the story, and all characters are no longer committed to that story. Any remaining steps of the sequence are not resolved.

2nd is certainly not the case here, but worth noting

1st is a bit troublesome for me as it doesn't say when exactly is this condition checked, and some things happen during commitment and resolution; but i still think it specifies when story resolution starts, rather than a condition that needs to be maintained for story to continue resolving

at least i never stopped resolving a story for this reason, seems weird to me (still with game of this complexity and rule clarity its not hard to be wrong, and here i see room for other interpretation)

 



#4 Iniche

Iniche

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 05:41 PM

 Thanks for the replies. We resolve stories all the way, but I have never seen any rule that definitively settles it for me.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS