Jump to content



Photo

FAQ 2.0 ???


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Teokrata

Teokrata

    Member

  • Members
  • 192 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:51 AM

 

Hello Devs, Caleb and FFG Crew

 

I would thank u for last FAQ and new very promise-looking Cycle (probably my favourite). Starting new cycle, with new mechanics (raider, ambush, experience) is great opportunity to clear some old issues left behind and explain new abilities… it is time for FAQ update ;-) I have strong hope for:

1) new mechanics explanation: raider, ambush, experience. when and how exacly they works, can ambush be countered with Long Winter, etc

2) restriction for Muster for War - the card is great to balance things between player who plays first and the players who is second, but it probably will be in every deck of each race, becouse it is too powerful to not play it.  I don't like cards that are auto include to all decks, i hope that eternal War with "pure-race-Villages" can break domination of warpstone excavation and contested village. Choosing between Warpstone and Muster for War could be another way to do that. I am also warry about things, which combo decks like orc fist or HE can do with this card in first turn, even dwarves with master of maps, order in chaos, card drawing quest and Arcane Power can do crazy abusing with that card avoiding limitation…

3) limitation to Arcane Power or changing Gathering the Winds - with 3 cost Legends and Muster for War HE arcane combo will be even more crazy than now. That could be solved by limitation to Arcane Power (home ruled already in Polish and German Nationals) or changing Gathering the Winds to be sacrificed after the last spell is resolved.

4) clarification to issue with Gatheirnd the Winds and support-spells - Can be played in opponent's turn or not?

5) limitation to Mork's Theef Ritual - that could slow orc combo a little and prevent some time first turn win with Muster for War

6) Reckless Engineer - should we play Reckless Engineer's ability as - sacrifice X developments to put into play X supports with any cost from top of the deck? works pretty well with order in chaos tactic responded to Engineer's action after sacrifice developed supports - is that legal?

 

 



#2 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 707 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:44 PM

Teo 4 and 6 have already been answered, yes to both.



#3 Teokrata

Teokrata

    Member

  • Members
  • 192 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:13 AM

Virgo said:

Teo 4 and 6 have already been answered, yes to both.

answered - YES, in FAQ? - NOT

Virgo, my dude, imagine that not every Invasion player read polish or FFG forum, such informations should be in FAQ



#4 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 707 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:36 AM

They should, but FFG chose to include question about War Boar instead…

However Gathering the Winds question is answered through changes in explanation of how it works.



#5 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:26 AM

Teokrata said:

Virgo said:

 

Teo 4 and 6 have already been answered, yes to both.

 

 

answered - YES, in FAQ? - NOT

Virgo, my dude, imagine that not every Invasion player read polish or FFG forum, such informations should be in FAQ

There will be a FAQ soon for EW.  I'm saying this not with any special knowledge, but just because they have to actually release rules for Raider and Ambush.

Why would Reckless Engineer work any differently?  I don't see anything in the rules that makes his ability ambiguous.  You clearly can do what you are suggesting, with sacrificing a bunch of devs to reveal several cards.  I don't see any reason for them to put it in the FAQ confirming that you can do that.

Same with Gathering the Winds.  Its an Action that you can take at any time, including your opponent's turn.  Why would you not be able to play a support when executing the Action?  There are other Actions in WHI that let you play units/supports at times when you would not normally be able to play them, this is the same.

Can you explain what it is about the text of these cards that needs a rule clarification?



#6 Teokrata

Teokrata

    Member

  • Members
  • 192 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:07 AM

Entropy42 said:

 

Why would Reckless Engineer work any differently?  I don't see anything in the rules that makes his ability ambiguous.  You clearly can do what you are suggesting, with sacrificing a bunch of devs to reveal several cards.  I don't see any reason for them to put it in the FAQ confirming that you can do that.

Same with Gathering the Winds.  Its an Action that you can take at any time, including your opponent's turn.  Why would you not be able to play a support when executing the Action?  There are other Actions in WHI that let you play units/supports at times when you would not normally be able to play them, this is the same.

Can you explain what it is about the text of these cards that needs a rule clarification?

 

 

Reckless Engineer - for example I have 2x Master Rune of Dismay as developments, I sacrifice them to trigger Engineer's action and respond with order in Chaos, then is resolve I put that two supports on top, reveal them kill the the unit and put Master Runes into play. If I can do that for as many supports from top of the deck, as many developments I sacrifice - for what is all ruling about damage, what doesnt really matter what cost and damage is if only border for the ablity is the number of developments? Shouldn't Engineer's ability be canceled if support is revealed, but there is no longer Engineer to be damaged? Or in other words - damaging Engineer for the cost of the support shouldn't be a condition to put it into play?

Gathering the Winds - if we play multiple spells from Gathering the Winds, the support is sacrificed after resolving first spell, what allows abusing with Arcane Power. In my opinion Gatheirng the Winds should be sacrificed after resolving the LAST spell. another question - in WHI rulebook we find:

"3. Capital Phase
The capital phase is the only phase in which a player
is allowed to play unit, support, and quest cards from
his hand to his three zones (kingdom, quest, and
battlefield). Only the active player may play unit, support,
and quest cards from his hand during this phase.

(…)

A player is considered to be taking an action when
playing a unit or support card from his hand (or when
playing a card face down as a development) during
the capital phase. The other player may still take actions
(play tactics or trigger card abilities) during this
phase, but only the active player is permitted to play
unit, support, and quest cards from his hand."

so… for some players it isn't very clear that Gathering the Winds allow to play supports and attachments during opponent's turn. As we agreed before - That problems are not only a rule issues, but also balance threats.



#7 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:49 AM

If damaging the Reckless Engineer was a cost, it would say something like "Sacrifice a development to reveal the top card of your deck.  If it is a support, this unit takes damage equal to the cost of the revealed card.  If it does, put the support into play."  My point is that should be no question about how this card currently works.  You are just asking for it to work differently than it does, and phrasing it as a rules clarification, when really you just want card errata.

For Gathering the Winds, from the passage you quoted:

"The other player may still take actions (play tactics or trigger card abilities) during this phase" 

So your opponent can trigger Actions during your turn.

There is an entire section of the FAQ called "Card Effects Resulting in Playing Cards", which should pretty clearly indicate that card effects (i.e. the Action of GtW) can allow you to play cards.  I guess some people might still want it spelled out for every card, but I can assure you with 100% certainty that you are allowed to play a unit/support on your opponent's turn if an Action is allowing you to do so.



#8 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:16 PM

 I think the "golden rule" would also apply in the case of playing a support outside of your capital phase.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS