Jump to content



Photo

Public Objective Ground Forces/Mechanized units


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Doomslayer

Doomslayer

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 04:28 AM

One of the public objectives states to successfully invade a planet with a ground force.  Would Mechanized units qualify as a ground force for this purpose?

 

Doomslayer



#2 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:48 PM

 I successfully invaded 1 planet containing at least 1 opposing ground force this turn.

The whole point is to claim 1VP by fighting for the planet, instead of invading an undefended planet or with just a PDS. Seeing how this is vanilla public objective (Mechanized units are from 2nd expansion) there is no reason not to claim it if you sallied forth and defeated a mechanized unit.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,631 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 01:12 PM

Kouteki said:

 I successfully invaded 1 planet containing at least 1 opposing ground force this turn.

The whole point is to claim 1VP by fighting for the planet, instead of invading an undefended planet or with just a PDS. Seeing how this is vanilla public objective (Mechanized units are from 2nd expansion) there is no reason not to claim it if you sallied forth and defeated a mechanized unit.

There are a lot of cards and effects concerning Ground Forces that were written before Mechanized Units existed, and not all of them hold true to this logic, per errata and FAQage provided by FFG after the release of Shards.  Honestly, given the haphazard manner in which these effects are applied (or not) to MUs, I would think you'd need to ask on a case by case basis to be sure.

Or just make a house rule to cover it and don't worry about RAW.

All that said, the way the objective card is worded, it doesn't matter what you invade with.  The real question to ask is "if I successfully invade an enemy planet that only contained Mechanized Unit(s), can I claim the VP?"



#4 Don Kristobal

Don Kristobal

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:05 AM

I got an official ruling on this one:

Hello Kristobal,

See my answer below:

Thanks for playing!
-Corey Konieczka
VP of R&D
Fantasy Flight Games

>
> Rule Question:
>
>
> 1)

Are the Public Objectives that says you need to take control of 1(1VP) or 2(2VP) planets that contains at least 1 opposing Ground Force also attainable by taking control of a planet that only contains a Mechanized Unit.

Yes.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS