Jump to content



Photo

Ashrian's Heroic Feat - how it works?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:08 AM

Hi all.

I would like to ask for a clarification of the Heroic Feat of the Ashrian character.

The Heroic Feat reads: "Chose a monster within 3 spaces of you. Each monster in that monster group is Stunned."

Particularly I wonder if it can be used against lieutenants.

Though if I think about it for a while, as some sources might indicate, a lieutenant is not considered a monster thus this might not work on them. On the other hand many skills read that they apply to monsters, e.g. Berserker's Whirlwind skill, which reads: "Perform an attack with a Melee weapon targeting all adjacent monsters. You make 1 attack roll and each monster rolls its defence dice separately."

Would it mean that the Whirlwind skill does not affect lieutenants?

Otherwise I would see it, both the Feat and Skill, applicable against all Overlord units. At least I see it that monster in fact means any unit controlled by Overlord where, in general, we have 3 types: minion monsters, master monsters and lieutenants.

 

All the Best,

AnChorr

 



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 02:08 AM

 It is about a monster group, that is monsters of a given type (e.g. Ettins, spiders, etc.).

Those monsters don't need to be adjacent. They just need to belong to the same group to be affected.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 02:28 AM

Robin said:

 It is about a monster group, that is monsters of a given type (e.g. Ettins, spiders, etc.).

Those monsters don't need to be adjacent. They just need to belong to the same group to be affected.

So from what you are saying you would say that lieutenants are not a group thus they cannot be affected, right? Thought the first part says "..target a monster..", and at least according to my thinking lieutenants are monsters as well. Still the 2nd part of it would not be quite right unless you would see them as a single unit group.

Or maybe I am over-thinking it? Maybe because I think since it is a skill which you use once per encounter thus it should be strong/heroic (enough) to affect any monsters of your choice.

 

All the Best, AnChorr



#4 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 647 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 02:42 AM

Lieutenant are treated like monster for all purpose

they are their own monster group

See rule book section "lieutenant" page 17



#5 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:53 AM

rugal said:

Lieutenant are treated like monster for all purpose

they are their own monster group

See rule book section "lieutenant" page 17

 

Thanks rugal.

This, I believe, answers my question and as per the reference you gave Ashrian can use hers Heroic Feat to stun a lieutenant.

Thanks all again, AnChorr



#6 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:31 AM

 I agree and never implied it could not affect a lieutnant.

It was your comparison with adjacency effects that I was adressing.

Now, I don't think that, if there were more than one lieutnant in an encounter that more than one could be affected, as each lieutnant is its own monster group. JMO.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#7 AnChorr

AnChorr

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 10:12 PM

Robin said:

 I agree and never implied it could not affect a lieutnant.

It was your comparison with adjacency effects that I was adressing.

Now, I don't think that, if there were more than one lieutenant in an encounter that more than one could be affected, as each lieutnant is its own monster group. JMO.

Well in your previous answer Robin it wasn't clear to me what your stand on my question was, since you gave examples of monster types that didn't include lieutenants. :)

No matter that all is clear an good here as all is in the rules as rugal referred.

You are right and it is not only your opinion but also rules state that lieutenants, and I quote page 17 of the Rule Book: "Each lieutenant is treated as its own monster group."  For this reason only one lieutenant can be affected by Ashrian's Heroic Feat.

 

Thanks, AnChorr






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS