Jump to content



Photo

Blood Dragon Knight Vs. Shield of Aeons


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:36 AM

Hello everyone.

Just for confirmation,
if I attack a zone with a "Blood Dragon Knight":

 

"Action: When this unit attacks, deal damage equal to its power to target unit in the defending zone."

and my opponent have in the defending zone a Hero with attached: "Shield of Aeons":

"Order only. Attach to a target Hero or legend. This card cannot be targeted by card effects. While attached Hero or legend is participating in combat, cancel all damage assigned to it."

If I play the action of the "Blood Dragon Knight", and I target the Hero, the damage, is not cancelling by the "Shield of Aeons", because the Hero at the moment is not participating to the combat, correct?



#2 herzogar

herzogar

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:45 AM

Horatius said:

Hello everyone.

Just for confirmation,
if I attack a zone with a "Blood Dragon Knight":

 

"Action: When this unit attacks, deal damage equal to its power to target unit in the defending zone."

and my opponent have in the defending zone a Hero with attached: "Shield of Aeons":

"Order only. Attach to a target Hero or legend. This card cannot be targeted by card effects. While attached Hero or legend is participating in combat, cancel all damage assigned to it."

If I play the action of the "Blood Dragon Knight", and I target the Hero, the damage, is not cancelling by the "Shield of Aeons", because the Hero at the moment is not participating to the combat, correct?

Hi!

You are correct. The Hero is not considered to be in combat until it has been declared a defender, so it would not benefit from the Shield of Aeons against The Blood Dragon Knight's action.

Cheers,

H



#3 Telveryon

Telveryon

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:46 AM

herzogar said:

Hi!

You are correct. The Hero is not considered to be in combat until it has been declared a defender, so it would not benefit from the Shield of Aeons against The Blood Dragon Knight's action.

Cheers,

H

I believe you are only partially correct. While it is true that the Hero would not benefit from the damage cancel, the problem is it wouldn't be damaged in the first place singe it cannot be targeted by the effect of the Blood Dragon Knight as per the This card cannot be targeted by card effects bit.



#4 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 03:20 AM

"This card cannot be targeted by card effects" is referred to the artefact, not to the unit.
My focus is destroy the Hero not the Artefact.



#5 Telveryon

Telveryon

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 03:43 AM

You are right because the card text refers to its effect on the attached unit is specifically says "attached Hero or Legend". I should have seen that. I stand corrected.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS