Jump to content



Photo

Vehicle Damage Resilience Versus AP Incendiary Blast


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Kriegschatten

Kriegschatten

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 02:26 PM

With the new SSU tanks having the "damage resilient" skill, it occurred to me that I don't quite understand how that works with an AP incendiary blast (i.e. X/skull) attack.

 

Let's say that a Steel Rain hits a Lavrentiy Beria with a petard mortar shell.

Let's further assume that the Lavrentiy was at full health (i.e. 8 health points).

 

At first I figured that the tank would just roll one die to see if it was destroyed or not.

 

But then I took a closer look at the wording for the damage resilient skill on pg. 21, which says:

"…roll one die for each point of damage inflicted on this unit. For each result, ignore one point of damage."

 

Since the Lavrentiy went from 8 health to zero, it took 8 points of damage.  Thus, it sounds like the tank would actually get to roll 8 dice and only take damage for the failed rolls.

 

Hmm, now that I think about it, a third interpretation could be that damage resilience doesn't work against AP incendiary blast at all since no damage points are technically inflicted--the unit is simply eliminated.  (The actual rule for AP incendiary blast says "roll 'X' dice for each targeted miniature and eliminate the entire unit if at least one die result is crosshair" (pg. 24).

 

So, what do you chaps think?  Which is the result?:

  1. Roll one die to see whether the tank is destroyed or not.
  2. Roll one die for each health point lost to see if it is truly lost.
  3. Roll no dice--tank is simply eliminated.

 



#2 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 02:38 PM

 Letter of of rules would say the third option.  I'm curious what the designers intended.



#3 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 02:39 PM

I'm leaning towards option 3. Incendiary Blast doesn't deal damage, it just kills outright, so DR doesn't enter into it.

This certainly merits a request for an official answer, though.



#4 golem101

golem101

    Member

  • Members
  • 199 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 11:03 PM

Leaning towards option 3 too. Balance wise, I'd rather keep X/skull as an overkill effect.



#5 Kriegschatten

Kriegschatten

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:05 PM

I sent this question to the rules experts today, as well.  So, we'll see what they have to say.



#6 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 05:26 AM

 Skull means you are dead-no saves today armor boys! ;)



#7 Kriegschatten

Kriegschatten

    Member

  • Members
  • 207 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:09 AM

I received my response from FFG today, and they agree that Damage Resilient does not protect you from an AP Icendiary Blast.

 

So, no save, unit is eliminated.

 



#8 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:38 AM

Zach's been giving some good answers lately. Good on him!



#9 sefou

sefou

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 01:23 AM

Well that's interresting.

I was a firm believer the damage resilient rule could be used even in those kind of situation.

I beleive the same answer is good with troops too. Like the axis hero, Lara being hit by a flame weapon. No matter her damage resilience rule, she's toasted.



#10 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 01:29 AM

sefou said:

Well that's interresting.

I was a firm believer the damage resilient rule could be used even in those kind of situation.

I beleive the same answer is good with troops too. Like the axis hero, Lara being hit by a flame weapon. No matter her damage resilience rule, she's toasted.

The rule won't affect troops as an attack on them operates differently having a 1/+ attack on them and not a 1/'kill'.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS