Jump to content



Photo

Toughness of the Ancient One when using more than one expansion board


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 eiterorm

eiterorm

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:04 AM

In the "Innsmouth Horror" rules it says that:

"The rules are unchanged when using more than one expansion city, except that the number of players should be counted as being one less for each expansion board in play beyond the first. So, if six players are playing a game using both Dunwich and Innsmouth (for a total of two expansion cities), they are counted as having one less player, for a total of five players. This modified number of players is used for such things as the monster limit and the maximum number of gates that can be open at once, and it reduces the level of difficulty for the players since they have so much more ground to cover."

Does this reduction in the number of players also count against the number of successes required for each doom token on the Ancient One sheet in the final battle?



#2 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,598 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:53 AM

No, The imposed handicap is a result of the investigators having to cover more ground. In final battle, they're not covering ground. It would make the final combat too easy.



#3 dwightsboardgame

dwightsboardgame

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 04:34 PM

Tibs said:

No, The imposed handicap is a result of the investigators having to cover more ground. In final battle, they're not covering ground. It would make the final combat too easy.

If it did count, it make final combat with two investigators and three boards problematic.



#4 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,598 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:12 AM

Even so, the rules say "to a minimum of 1 investigator." So now imagine what it would be like with 3 investigators and all boards, if the doom tokens were easier to remove.



#5 eiterorm

eiterorm

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 11:06 AM

Tibs said:

 

No, The imposed handicap is a result of the investigators having to cover more ground. In final battle, they're not covering ground. It would make the final combat too easy.

 

 

Thanks! Then we've been doing it right. The rules are a bit vague when stating that the "modified number of players is used for such things as…", so a friend made me ask here just to be certain. =)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS