Jump to content



Photo

Dual Strike question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 leo1925

leo1925

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 12:39 AM

I am new to the game so forgive me if the question is already answered in the book (if it is please point me to the right page).

If, when using the dual strike talent, i have two weapons of different craftmanship (for example a common power sword and a master power sword) do i get the bonus from craftmanship to the WS test?

Also is the dual strike talent really worth for an assault marine? To me it seems that it's only good if you face something with an enourmous toughness otherwise you are better off using lightning attack.



#2 Macharias the Mendicant

Macharias the Mendicant

    Member

  • Members
  • 274 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:02 AM

Welcome Leo,

To answer your first question: I don't think that this is covered in the book. It's a decision that will need to be made with the GM. For my part? I would not allow the full bonus: after all, only one of the weapons is Best-Quality. I would either give no bonus or, if I'm feeling generous (and I generally am), I would split the difference: +5% to hit.

And yes: Dual Strike is pretty much only useful when fighting opponents with monster/Unnatural tougness. (High-powered CHaos Space Marines come to mind.) I would say its usefulness depends on what you're likely to be up again. However, I was pretty happy to have it in a DH game when we faught some CHaos Space Marines.



#3 leo1925

leo1925

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 03:15 AM

Thank you for answering.
It seems weird to me that the book doesn't have an answer for that but ok.

We will be playing the rising tempest adventure.
 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS