Jump to content



Photo

Thoughts on Shipment from Mirrormorph?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 09:57 PM

 What do you guys think of Shipment from Mirrormorph?

Until now, with a good number of games under my belt, I have just not played this card. In fact, when I've exceeded my hand size, I just discard them.

At first, I figured it'd be still worth including for the chance of drawing it in your starting hand; you'd then have the advantage of a fast set up and room to maneuver. However, even if you run 3 copies in a minimum size deck, there's no guarantee of drawing them at the start of the game.

I later realized a bigger problem with it: it requires a particular combination of cards in your hand to be useful. It's not just about having cards you can install with it; if you've got cards that are unwise to install at the time, then it's useless. For example, drawing it with an HQ hiding a bunch of Agendas and no ICE and no ICE-protected remote servers with free space on the table- to use it would be disastrous. At the same time, holding it in your hand just takes up space, especially once your HQ hits maximum capacity.

And that's if you have cards in HQ at all- the flipside is that by the mid to late game, you're just as likely to have too few cards in hand (or any at all) to use with Shipment from Mirrormorph. Whether you're overflowing with cards or running your Corp on an empty hand, chances are that most of the cards you want to rapidly install with it are already on the table.

To be fair, I'm speaking from my own experience and my own deck. I suppose an Ambush-loaded deck won't have as many problems with it.

Please discuss. Thank you for your time.



#2 Malgamus

Malgamus

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 11:35 PM

 I haven't found it too useful when deck building and have no plans to use it in any decks for the time being.



#3 Rottencat

Rottencat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 05:25 AM

I quickly found this card to be discard fodder after 3-4 games.

 

It does work but it seems to be a 1st turn combo card….Play it so you end 1st turn with empty hand and everything in play.

After that? not sure why you would need it.

 

Rottencat



#4 Tokhuah

Tokhuah

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 08:23 AM

It is a combo card having nothing to combo with at the moment…



#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,140 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 01:34 AM

I have used it quite successfully past my first turn. I am going to be putting Precognition in to my HB deck when I rebuild it(currently experimenting with other corps) to help setup this card and also help setup Advanced Beta Test when I score it.



#6 ChaosChild

ChaosChild

    Member

  • Members
  • 526 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 02:34 AM

I've found it to be fairly useful late game, it's situational but anything that saves you a couple of clicks has got to be worth considering. Though I'll admit that it's most useful in the first couple of turns.



#7 kaffis

kaffis

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:05 AM

 There are two things I think about Mirrormorph:

1. It doesn't mesh well with the current HB identity. It's clearly an HB card, in that it focuses on action efficiency and supports heavy installable decks well. But it works at odds with the core set's HB identity's incentive to spread your installations out over multiple turns.

2. It actually partners well with Weyland or a deck splashing Weyland's HQ server upgrade. A 7-card hand means that you can let Mirrormorph and the cards you want to combo together with it stagnate in your hand without clogging up your entire draw & play flow.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS