Jump to content



Photo

Manuevering Question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 lostcymbrogi

lostcymbrogi

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:15 PM

Ok, a question here on the manuvering phase, part 1 (movement.) It reads as follows…

 

1. Movement Step: The player may move, as a group, any number of his units from one space to one other space.  The units may move up to two spaces (following the movement lines connecting spaces), and must all end their movement in the same space. Each movement line moved over costs one movement point.

 

Now from what I am reading it it is clear that this specifies moving group of units a certain amount of spaces. What is not clear, however, is if you have excess movement points when that finishes if you can move a second group or not. Say for instance if you control a spaceport. Any thoughts?



#2 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:13 PM

All the units which move in the step must start from the same space and end in the same space.  The movement points only determine how far apart the spaces can be.  If you do not move them the full amount, then the extra movement points are wasted.



#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 07:53 AM

Also worth mentioning is that controlling a space port changes the "up to two spaces" part into "up to four spaces".


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 goret

goret

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 09:04 PM

 So even if i have 3 stacks of units in 3 different location, i can only ever move 1 stack  in a single turn. My 2 remaining stacks will have to stay immobile this turn. That is correct,  yes?



#5 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:03 PM

Correct. There is, (2 copies if memory serves) a card that allows you to take two moves during your turn once, though. So with some luck you could be allowed to move all three.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,555 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 03:57 PM

goret said:

 So even if i have 3 stacks of units in 3 different location, i can only ever move 1 stack  in a single turn. My 2 remaining stacks will have to stay immobile this turn. That is correct,  yes?

Barring the extra move Strategy card Fnoffen mentions, or the Sol free move after a Sol Incursion draw, that is correct.  It might sound harsh at first blush, but the ability to deploy from orbit anywhere on the map helps to counteract this limited surface movement.  Learning how to balance the two in order to have your troops where you want them is a key factor in the strategy of the game.



#7 goret

goret

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:32 AM

Thanks for the reply.

No i don't think it's harsh, every faction has some nice abilities. And 1 move + 1 deployment by default is a very interesting concept making you choose when and where to move/deploy. And having all you units on the map is not always an advantage.

But i haven't played dune in 13-14 years and the Rex rule book  was not crystal clear to me on the movement part.

cheers






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS