Jump to content



Photo

Vampire Hunter-first ability clarification


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:06 PM

After you encounter a space with instructions to draw 1 or more Adventure Cards and have drawn the required number of cards, you may investigate. To do so, discard 1 card on your space that is not an Enemy and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.

From what I understand, this is more or less similar to the Prophetess' ability, except the Vampire Hunter can't discard Enemies.

What throws me off in the phrasing is the  requirement to draw cards for this ability to work and the  "discard one card on your space" clause. Why not say, discard one of the cards you drew., It seems that  with the ability  as written, it allows you to discard a card you haven't drawn on your current space.

Does that mean the VH can replace any one unwanted non-Enemy card on her space with another one she draws from the Adventure  deck?

 

 

 

 



#2 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

    Member

  • Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 04:14 AM

Yes she can also discard a card allready in play to draw a new one instead.



#3 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 05:53 AM

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 



#4 Velhart

Velhart

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,210 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 06:56 AM

zealot12 said:

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

Yes. After she draws those 2 cards in hidden valley, then she may investigate the 3 cards.

She may discard one of those cards, and draw a new one.

 

It's a mix between the Prophetess and the Philosopher's ability.



#5 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,619 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:47 AM

Velhart said:

 

zealot12 said:

 

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

 

 

Yes. After she draws those 2 cards in hidden valley, then she may investigate the 3 cards.

She may discard one of those cards, and draw a new one.

 

It's a mix between the Prophetess and the Philosopher's ability.

 

I wanted to say something but I discovered it was nonsense. Unfortunately I've been playing Black Industries edition a lot in the last months and I'm mixing up things. Cannot delete the post, sorry

 



#6 Uvatha

Uvatha

    Member

  • Members
  • 455 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 05:42 PM

Yes, but as far as I understand it she must draw at least 1 card. So if she encountered the swamp on a 1 card draw space she cant discard it.



#7 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:45 PM

That's what I've been thinking too.The drawing of a card seems obligatory as worded. Otherwise, it's just a mashup of two abilities from different characters.



#8 GrimGuvna

GrimGuvna

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 10:30 PM

After you encounter a space with instructions to draw 1 or more Adventure Cards and have drawn the required number of cards, you may investigate. To do so, discard 1 card on your space that is not an Enemy and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.

 

The key trigger point here is that she can only use her special ability on a Space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards.  It is irrelevant if there are cards there or not.  the second part refers to having all cards required to be drawn in hand so that she can Investigate.

Velhart has it correct.

Of note is her third ability:

Whenever you visit the Graveyard, you may draw 1 Adventure Card instead of resolving the instructions on the space.

 

This is not a space with instructions to draw cards and so she cannot investigate as above.  The Graveyard is a powerful nexus of evil energy that even she is challenged by.  Consider that she is Good of alignment and would ordinarily lose a life, but through this ability can ignore the instructions to lose a life and instead draw a card thereby Investigating to an extent not normally possible.

She is one kewl kitten.  The Talisman version of Buffy.

 

 



#9 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

    Member

  • Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 11:34 PM

Her ability to draw card on the graveyard is worded as she always can draw a card on the graveyard, even if there is one or more cards there already. Correct?



#10 GrimGuvna

GrimGuvna

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 04:21 AM

Encountering a Space – Other Spaces


Characters must follow the instructions on the space if their
player chooses to encounter the space instead of encountering
another character. However, before they do, any Enemies in
the space must first be killed (see “Resolving Battles vs. Creatures”
on page 10) or evaded (see “Evading” on page 14). Any
Stranger or Place there must be visited and any gold, Objects,
and Followers may be taken.

The way I see it she would encounter any cards on the Graveyard first and then if she wasnt moved to another space or defeated in any combat then she could then resolve the Graveyard space by using her special ability to draw a card.

So to answer your question:-   Yes.

 



#11 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,288 posts

Posted 13 November 2012 - 04:46 AM

Yes first of all she must resolve any faceup cards on the Graveyard, then she can choose to draw a card instead of encountering the Graveyard!

Ell.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS