Noob Questions

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

• Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 02:01 AM

Hi I'm new to the game. Have only played 3 games thus far, but they have been awesome (even as I finds out after each game there have been some rules we have overseen).

However, my first questions is:

Can you use weapons when you try to close gates?

What happends if you encounter an location in Arkham and a gate opens up, but there is a elder sign marker on the space? Nothing happends or draw a new card instead?

#2 Thomas Cartwright

Thomas Cartwright

• Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 02:27 AM

No, you cannot use weapons to help close gates. Weapons add to Combat, which is a specialized kind of Fight check used when confronting monsters. Closing a gate is a general Fight or Lore check and weapon bonuses do not apply.

If you draw an Arkham encounter that says, "a gate appears" or "a gate and a monster appear," and you're at a sealed location, then nothing happens that turn. The seal prevents the gate and monster from appearing. That's one of the benefits of sealing instead of merely closing a gate.

#3 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

• Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 04:39 PM

Thanks.

Another one:

When determing your score, how do you count your monster throphies? Each trophy counts as one, or do you count them by toughness points? 

#4 The Professor

The Professor

• Members
  • 1,331 posts

Posted 28 October 2012 - 05:05 PM

According to the rules, you receive one point for every three Monster Tokens.  I play a variant in which you receive one point for every five Points of Toughness.

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

#5 Nidhögg

Nidhögg

• Members
  • 209 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:03 AM

Ok, we have been playing that you get one victorypoint per 3 toughness points. 

But I want to play it right as I like to post my results on Tibs statistics page :) 

#6 The Professor