Jump to content



Photo

OL reinforcement question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 golbeeze

golbeeze

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 07:14 AM

I had a question about reinforcements for the OL.

For this situation, the OL only has large monsters (let's say 2X2) and they come in on the entrance tile, which is 2X2. If there is 1 hero left on the front tiles, does this mean the OL is unable to receive reinforcements? I'll try to make a little diagram:

O=open square

H=Hero

X=Monster

|O|O|O|

|O|O|O|

|O|O|    <----entrance

|O|O|    <----entrance

Above, the entrance is the 2X2 section and the rest of the map is above. Now, if a hero blocks one of the entrance tiles, can reinforcements enter if they are only 2X2 size?

|O|O|O|

|O|O|O|

|H|O|    <----entrance

|O|O|    <---entrance

Here, the hero is blocking one of the entrance tiles. Would this make the reinforcements enter at the nearest open tile, meaning the below setup?

|X|X|O|

|X|X|O|

|H|O|

|O|O|

 

 

Thank you



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 08:21 AM

If the Entrance is blocked by a hero, like in this case, it doesn't cancel the reinforcement, instead the monster is placed into the nearest empty space, so the last example is correct.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 09:38 AM

"the nearest empty space" how far does this go?

Don't ask how but during our game this is what we ended up with.
During the 4th hero's turn (the other hero's had their turn, not the 4th hero round) marked with yellow star, he managed to kill the dragon, also marked with star. Reinforcements states: "during the start of the overlords turn, he may place 1 monster from 1 of the open groups on the entrance, respecting group limits." Forget that the dragons in this quest weren't an open group so he could'nt reinforce them. lets say that he could. Would the Overlord place the dragon on 1 of the blue places? (which I find ridicules).



#4 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 09:39 AM



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 08:35 PM

Seems legit, although I think it will be a very rare occasion when you'll have so many 2x2 and 2x3 monsters out.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 10:42 PM

Dam said:


Seems legit, although I think it will be a very rare occasion when you'll have so many 2x2 and 2x3 monsters out.

This is because we play with the conversion kit. In this quest there were the dragons and two open groups which, in our case, are almost always 2x2.



#7 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 03:11 AM

Yeah, but you'd need to pick two different dragons plus a 2x2 group for this particular quest (just played it today myself).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#8 golbeeze

golbeeze

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:10 AM

Excellent, thank you for your responses!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS