Jump to content



Photo

Unique ability


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 24 October 2012 - 08:01 PM

How does work unique ability for Dexter Drake, Amanda Sharpe, Bob Jenkins and Monterey Jack?

When they are buying from thear representative deck they pick up one extra card from Spell, skill, common and unique deck (this makes tree cards) and return one 

Is that means that they buy or keep two cards?



#2 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,344 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 12:07 AM

For a new player, this is a very popular question.  For each of the Investigators names (Dexter, Amanda, Bob, and Monterey), whenever you draw a card from the respective deck (Spells for Dexter; Skills for Amanda; etc.), you draw an extra one, but you still select only one of those drawn.  For instance, Bob's at the General Store and decides to take advantage of the Location Ability.  Any other player would draw three cards from the Common Item deck and select one for purchase.  As Bob has the unique ability to draw an extra card, he draws four, but still only selects one for purchase.  Here's another example.  Dexter, during an Arkham Encounter, passes a check and may draw a Spell from the Spell deck.  Due to his unique ability, he may draw another one and select between the two.  Finally, this special ability works during set-up.  Thus, As Amanda starts with two Skills, she draws three and selects two of them at the start of the game.

Hope that helps. 


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#3 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 12:34 AM

 The thing that cofuses me is for example Amanda :

What if Amanga goes to Administration to buy skill?

She pay 8$ draw to skill +1 for her unique ability (thats 3 skill's) and then i read text:

Unique ability - whenever Amanda draws one ore more cards from the skill deck, she draw one extra and then discards one of the cards 

U see it say's DISCARD ONE, so is with oders

 

Is this a writing error or what?



#4 allstar64

allstar64

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 01:41 AM

You know it wasn't till your post that I finally understand why this is so confusing for new players.

 

This is how it works. The Power of the Administrative Building is:

 

Classes: Instead of having an encounter here, you may pay $8 to draw 2 Skills. Keep one of them and discard the other

 

So when Amanda goes there and uses its ability she draws 2 Skills and thanks to her ability she draws an additional skill for a total of three. Then her ability resolbves which is she must discard 1 of the skills so she's down to having 2. Than the Administrative Building resolves specifically where it says "Keep one of them and discard the other".

 

Basically although her skill lets her draw more and than discard ONE it does not overwrite the previous instruction to discard that was originally attached to the Admin Building. The other deck yankers are the same



#5 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,344 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 01:50 AM

@ allstar64

Spot on, my friend…Amanda's Special Ability doesn't mean she keeps two Skills.  Great catch.


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#6 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 02:16 AM

 Thx for the info ;)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS