Jump to content



Photo

House Card Questions


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Mitspieler

Mitspieler

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 06:48 AM

 Hej from Germany,

I just got me the Expansion and got a few questions regarding house cards.

1. Margaery Tyrell und Mance Rayder

"if you are defending […] your opponent´s final combat strenght is 2" und "your final combat strength is equal to the current Position of the Wildling Threat token". Does that mean, that even if my opponent attacks me with 4 Knights and a house card worth 4 points his combat strength is not 12 (8 for knights + 4 for the card) but a mere 2? Also, am I correct that playing Uncle Mance makes my own troops und support complety irrelevant as the Wildling Coin is the one and only thing that defines my power?

2. Rodrik the Reader

"[…] may search any Westeros deck for a card of your choice […]"

Does that mean I can chose one deck and search it or can I search through all the decks?

 

Thanks in advance for the help!

Regards,

Mitspieler



#2 xBlisxs

xBlisxs

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 10:30 PM

Hi Mitspieler,

1. Yes, you are right. Final means final. No support, no nothing.
2. I guess it means only one card in only one deck.



#3 Geldris

Geldris

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 02 June 2013 - 02:18 AM

This hits the nail on the head.

 

Mance and Maergery leave me with the question: what happens if the Baratheons and Tyrells are fighting and they play both cards?  Does Mance's final take effect, or does Maergery's?



#4 pop2k3

pop2k3

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 27 August 2013 - 12:38 AM

need to check the Throne ranking.

which house in front, which house execute first and next house execute after.

 

as:

Tyrell after Baratheon, then Mance Rayder get the combat strength, then Margaery Tyrell make Baratheon force final Strength as 2 in this battle.



#5 abm

abm

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 01:15 PM

2. I guess it means only one card in only one deck.

You seem to have missed the point of the question completely. The question was whether Rodrik's ability gives you the right to search all 3 Westeros decks to make up your mind about the card you want to move on top or only the right to first pick a single Westeros deck and then search for a card only in that deck.
 
Personally, I'd find it strange for the first to be the case because that would translate to a power of finding out everything that's coming in the next Westeros phase, since the 2 decks you're not going to make changes to will remain undisturbed after you've had a chance to see what cards they had at the top while you were "searching" them for the card you wanted.
 
 

need to check the Throne ranking.
which house in front, which house execute first and next house execute after.
 
as:
Tyrell after Baratheon, then Mance Rayder get the combat strength, then Margaery Tyrell make Baratheon force final Strength as 2 in this battle.

That's a highly suspicious solution - it would mean that being higher on the Throne ranking puts you at a disadvantage in this situation. If the ranking is to come into this, I think it's more likely to give priority to whoever is higher on the Throne track, based on the logic that since these 2 abilities are directly contradictory only one of them should be executed and the other should be disabled.

Edited by abm, 01 September 2013 - 01:27 PM.


#6 abm

abm

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:53 AM

That's a highly suspicious solution - it would mean that being higher on the Throne ranking puts you at a disadvantage in this situation.

Well, suspicious or not, it seems that indeed that's how FFG intended it - I've found this explained in several places in the BBG forum: indeed whenever there are any potential conflicts between House Cards the solution is to execute them in Iron Throne order, which means that sometimes the lower-ranking player will get the upper hand by overriding their opponent's card.

Edited by abm, 03 September 2013 - 10:53 AM.


#7 mungkei

mungkei

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 07 September 2013 - 09:24 AM

I agree with you abm; however, you can find this in the FFG FAQ:

 

Q: If House Greyjoy plays his “Victarion Greyjoy” 
House card against House Baratheon’s “Sallador Saan” 
House card, are the participating Greyjoy Ships still 
reduced to 0 combat strength?
A: Yes
 
Which seems to contradict how we feel it should be played, as if the Baratheon player was higher on the Iron Throne his card would take effect first, lowering the ships to 0, then Greyjoy's card would raise them back to 1.  Thoughts?

  • Whopperboy likes this

#8 Amin

Amin

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:50 AM

First of all, there are times when it is advantageous to be lower on the Iron Thone track, and some card effects like Mance vs Marg is one of them. Another benefit can be having last strike in a turn, which is sometimes more important than first strike.

 

As for Victarion vs Saan FAQ ruling, it makes sense. Victarion and Saan aren't exactly conflicting in the same way Mance vs Marg do, the latter speak directly on final combat strength. Victarion would give your ships a boost (+2 "instead of" regular 1) whereas Saan just completely negates all non-baratheon ships to 0 strength when that happens. Victarion doesn't say "ships are plus 1, instead of zero."

 

In any case, FAQ rulings are to be followed for any particular case like this one.

 

 

 

I agree with you abm; however, you can find this in the FFG FAQ:

 

Q: If House Greyjoy plays his “Victarion Greyjoy” 
House card against House Baratheon’s “Sallador Saan” 
House card, are the participating Greyjoy Ships still 
reduced to 0 combat strength?
A: Yes
 
Which seems to contradict how we feel it should be played, as if the Baratheon player was higher on the Iron Throne his card would take effect first, lowering the ships to 0, then Greyjoy's card would raise them back to 1.  Thoughts?

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS