Jump to content



Photo

Willas vs TRV


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Uncle Joker

Uncle Joker

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 11:06 PM

 Willas Tyrell

 

Text: 
House Tyrell, Lord, Ally While Willas Tyrell is participating in a challenge against an opponent running an agenda, he gains renown. While Willas Tyrell is participating in a challenge, participating  and  characters do not count their STR                                                                      When Willas is participating in a challenge, will The Red Viper (PotS)'s STR be counted?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#2 Ratatoskr

Ratatoskr

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 12:17 AM

TRV's STR will be counted. Willas' ability is a character ability that acts directly on TRV, so his immunity protects him.



#3 Uncle Joker

Uncle Joker

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 12:50 AM

Ratatoskr said:

TRV's STR will be counted. Willas' ability is a character ability that acts directly on TRV, so his immunity protects him.

It seems that Willas only change the way of how to calculate the total STR, it does not change the STR of any character at all.

The STR of HL or HM character is not decreased to Zero.



#4 Ratatoskr

Ratatoskr

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 01:21 AM

Uncle Joker said:

Ratatoskr said:

 

TRV's STR will be counted. Willas' ability is a character ability that acts directly on TRV, so his immunity protects him.

 

 

It seems that Willas only change the way of how to calculate the total STR, it does not change the STR of any character at all.

The STR of HL or HM character is not decreased to Zero.

I guess we'll have to wait for ktom to chime in.

On the one hand, counting and comparing STR is a framework event. OTOH, the way Willas is worded, his ability works directly on the characters in question. It's "participating [Lanni] and [Martell] characters do not count their STR", not "do not count the STR of participating [Lanni] and [Martell] characters". I'm still leaning on TRV being immune to the effect, but I see where you're coming from. Let's see what ktom has to say.



#5 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,645 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 01:37 AM

Uncle Joker said:

It seems that Willas only change the way of how to calculate the total STR, it does not change the STR of any character at all.

The STR of HL or HM character is not decreased to Zero.

What Willas is doing is changing which characters are eligible to be included in the calculation of total challenge STR. So he is working directly on the character, not the challenge, by placing a play restriction on it (as opposed to changing some characteristic of the character).

So, since Willas is working at the character level, "immune to character abilities" would allow a character to ignore the "doesn't count its STR" play restriction that Willas tries to place on it. Immunity would let that Lanni/Martell character count its STR during the challenge.



#6 Ratatoskr

Ratatoskr

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,565 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 02:26 AM

ktom said:

I agree with everything Ratatoskr has said. He is so clever!

~I should start taking bets on these things… ;)



#7 Uncle Joker

Uncle Joker

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 03:33 AM

ktom said:

Uncle Joker said:

It seems that Willas only change the way of how to calculate the total STR, it does not change the STR of any character at all.

 

The STR of HL or HM character is not decreased to Zero.

What Willas is doing is changing which characters are eligible to be included in the calculation of total challenge STR. So he is working directly on the character, not the challenge, by placing a play restriction on it (as opposed to changing some characteristic of the character).

 

So, since Willas is working at the character level, "immune to character abilities" would allow a character to ignore the "doesn't count its STR" play restriction that Willas tries to place on it. Immunity would let that Lanni/Martell character count its STR during the challenge.

 

Thank you Ktom and Mr.Clever Ratatoskr. ^_^






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS