Jump to content



Photo

Advance Beta Test: Faceup or Facedown?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:35 AM

 Specific question: Does Advanced Beta Test put trashed cards into the Archives faceup or facedown? As the card tells the Corp to look but not reveal, I currently interpret it as facedown. However, I'd like to hear what others think or how others interpret this, especially as far as official rulings are concerned.

On a bigger note, I think it should be suggested to FFG that they clarify exactly what situations cause a card to enter the Archives faceup or facedown. On page 13, the rulebook says that trashed rezzed cards go in faceup while unrezzed ones go facedown. However, special scenarios- such as that created by ABT- are a little ambiguous.



#2 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:41 AM

I think your first question can be answered by refering to the second.

Cards go to archives face down if trashed when inactive and face up if active.

Thus Acelerated Beta Test lets you trash the cards FACE DOWN as they were inactive in R&D.

I think that is somewhere in the rules or FAQ but don't let me search for it …


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#3 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 05:48 AM

 General rule of thumb: if the Runner is looking at a card when it's trashed, it's faceup.  Otherwise it's facedown.



#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,132 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 05:52 AM

No clarification is needed from FFG. It is already very clear in the rules.

 

Trashed cards go to Archives faceup if they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed.



#5 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 08:21 AM

 I'm sorry about that. It's just that the mentioned rule (from page 13) was about trashing installed cards. I wasn't sure if it applied to ABT's looked-at cards as well because they were never installed to begin with.



#6 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 08:23 AM

Ser Folly said:

I think your first question can be answered by refering to the second.

Cards go to archives face down if trashed when inactive and face up if active.

Thus Acelerated Beta Test lets you trash the cards FACE DOWN as they were inactive in R&D.

I think that is somewhere in the rules or FAQ but don't let me search for it …

Believe me, I searched for it in both the rulebook and the FAQ.  It all ultimately seemed very ambiguous (such as page 13, whether only for installed cards or all cards), so I decided to post about it here.



#7 Nerdcore

Nerdcore

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 03:58 AM

 I think that it's supposed to be based on whether or not both players have seen the card. At least, that's how we've been doing it. 

 

I.E. a card that is kicked by Noise's ability is put into Archives face down, because the Runner has not seen the card, but the Corp can when it enters the Archives. An unrezzed piece of ice killed by Forged Activation Orders hits face down because the runner still hasn't seen it, but cards trashed through Trash Cost or Demolition Run always go face up because the Runner has seen them. 

 

In the case of Advanced Beta Test, the Runner hasn't seen it, so it's face down. Honestly, if you trash an Agenda, would you want that sitting on top of your discard pile in plain view?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS