Jump to content



Photo

Death on the wing, first encounter.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Piazera

Piazera

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 04:13 AM

 I had some friends over last night to continue our campaign and the was a moment in the game where the players passed the turn over to the overlord (me) and there was the following situation.

 

all the players were in a straight line on the canyon, and the first player of the line (the necromancer) was surrounded by: three rocks, his minion and by another player figure.

 

my question is: in that case, would the overlord win?

 

This generated quite an argue, because on the quest description it says: "If, at the end of a hero's turn, all the spaces adjacent to him contain either boulder (objective token), the edge of the map, or other figures while on the Canyon, or …" the overlord wins.

 

My argument is that both the friedly hero and the familiar are considered figures, am I right?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,257 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 04:46 AM

I would agree, OL wins. Of course, this situation is pretty much 100% down to stupid heroes (especially with the Necromancer who can move the Reanimate before his turn ends).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 06:12 AM

I agree.

"Figures" include heroes as well as monsters.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#4 Wrapped

Wrapped

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 11:34 PM

 Yeah, the necro could even have dismissed his reanimate.

 

In this case the OL would probably have won because the players were misunderstanding the win condition and I hate winning like that, so I would probably throw them a bone before their round was over. Before I play this scenario with my friends I will make sure to be clear about this.



#5 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 10:39 AM

Wrapped said:

Before I play this scenario with my friends I will make sure to be clear about this.
I do have a "briefing" about a quest's/encounter's victory conditions with the players on each occasion, so we do agree about what they are and mean.
Now, either the OL or the heroes can find a "twist" during the game… and that's life.
But loosing just for having misunderstood the VCs is frustrating for everybody, I agree with you.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS