Jump to content



Photo

Toolbooth?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 mathlete

mathlete

    Member

  • Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 05:58 PM

What happens if the Runner has TWO credits and hits Toolbooth?  Does the Runner lose the 2 credits?



#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 06:27 PM

 Nope, the run ends and the Runner keeps the two credits.



#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,014 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 02:09 AM

This is actually covered in the FAQ. On page 3

 

If the Runner has less than 3 credits when encountering
Tollbooth, does he lose any credits he has or does the run end
without the Runner paying anything?

The run ends without the Runner paying anything. If he cannot
pay 3 credits, then the run ends. He must pay 3 credits if he is
able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad
publicity credits).

 



#4 Mejis

Mejis

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 21 October 2012 - 09:15 AM

mathlete said:

What happens if the Runner has TWO credits and hits Toolbooth?  Does the Runner lose the 2 credits?

 

What Toqtamish said.

Also note that it is toLLbooth, not toolbooth :)

As in, a toll that you have to pay to get past.



#5 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:04 AM

Mejis said:

Also note that it is toLLbooth, not toolbooth :)

As in, a toll that you have to pay to get past.

It seems like I'm not the only teacher active on this forum !


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#6 mathlete

mathlete

    Member

  • Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 02:06 PM

Mejis said:

mathlete said:

 

What happens if the Runner has TWO credits and hits Toolbooth?  Does the Runner lose the 2 credits?

 

 

 

What Toqtamish said.

Also note that it is toLLbooth, not toolbooth :)

As in, a toll that you have to pay to get past.

Thank you for the homophone lesson.  However, are you certain that it was a grammar mistake and not a typing mistake?  I am a terrible typist and often hit the wrong double letter.  I was aware of the correct word.    I don't see what the correct spelling or further clarification ('"as in a toll that you have to pay to get past") added to the discussion other than to state that you felt superior.  I am also a teacher (of mathematics).



#7 mathlete

mathlete

    Member

  • Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 02:07 PM

I actually wish that the Runner had to pay the 1 or 2 credits that he has when encountering the Tollbooth. 



#8 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,014 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 02:16 PM

mathlete said:

 

 I don't see what the correct spelling or further clarification ('"as in a toll that you have to pay to get past") added to the discussion other than to state that you felt superior.  I am also a teacher (of mathematics).

 

 

Let's all try and play nice.

 

And I agree Tollbooth would be more interesting if it made the runner spend the credits no matter what. It would also be a lot more powerful and would need an increase in cost.



#9 Mejis

Mejis

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 01:08 AM

mathlete said:

Mejis said:

 

mathlete said:

 

What happens if the Runner has TWO credits and hits Toolbooth?  Does the Runner lose the 2 credits?

 

 

 

What Toqtamish said.

Also note that it is toLLbooth, not toolbooth :)

As in, a toll that you have to pay to get past.

 

 

Thank you for the homophone lesson.  However, are you certain that it was a grammar mistake and not a typing mistake?  I am a terrible typist and often hit the wrong double letter.  I was aware of the correct word.    I don't see what the correct spelling or further clarification ('"as in a toll that you have to pay to get past") added to the discussion other than to state that you felt superior.  I am also a teacher (of mathematics).

 

Easy mate, I wasn't trying to be superior in any way. I actually wouldn't have said anything but for the fact you had evidently typo'd in the subject line and the opening post.

I'd been misreading "Experiential data" as "Experimental data" until someone pointed it out so was merely trying to be helpful.

Apologies.



#10 Malgamus

Malgamus

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 01:55 AM

I think Tollbooth is fine just ending the run if you don't have the 3 credits. I also like that you must pay the 3 if you have them even if it means you can't break it afterwards. The card really does what it's name intends.



#11 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 02:45 AM

Mejis said:

 

 

Easy mate, I wasn't trying to be superior in any way. I actually wouldn't have said anything but for the fact you had evidently typo'd in the subject line and the opening post.

I'd been misreading "Experiential data" as "Experimental data" until someone pointed it out so was merely trying to be helpful.

Apologies.

A friend of mine kept calling Gordian blade 'Guardian blade'. I kept my mouth shut and last time we played he found it out all by himself

 

Life is hard and grammar and lexis are even harder…

And please don't take offense being compared to a teacher


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#12 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,397 posts

Posted 23 October 2012 - 07:35 PM

I used to read "harbinger" as "harbringer" for some reason (probably that I kept associating it with "bring") until someone pointed it out to me.



#13 skipper.pickle

skipper.pickle

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:17 PM

 Okay.  But now I want a card called Toolbooth.  Hardware, obviously.

 

(Also a teacher.)



#14 Malgamus

Malgamus

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 11:29 PM

skipper.pickle said:

 Okay.  But now I want a card called Toolbooth.  Hardware,obviously 

 

Shaper already has Toolbox, isn't that close enough?



#15 Smilingknight

Smilingknight

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 09:49 AM

 Tollbooth would be a resource, 2 clicks: search stack for a hardware and add to grip, shuffle stack



#16 Kraken77

Kraken77

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 November 2012 - 11:25 AM

I feel it also necessary to point out your incorrect useage of the word "homophone".

 

A homophone would be a word that sounds the same but mean something different, such as "knot" and "not".

 

Your example of a "homophone" was just two different words that still actually sound different.

 

BTW - I am a teacher as well.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS