• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 sammann11

sammann11

• Members
  • 211 posts

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:12 PM

Alright - I'm new at this - many questions:

1) For this quest (or any where the setup text has me place cards in the staging area) after I follow the setup instructions on 1A, play proceeds to the 1st phase of round 1. When it comes time to quest, and draw 1 encounter card from that deck per player, at this point there will have been a total of 5 encounter cards drawn: 1 for each objective plus the two (playing with 2 decks) during the quest phase. Do I have this part correct so far?

2) When 1 hero is still "prisoner" and the other 2 heroes controlled by that player leave play, what happens? Do any allies that have survived remain in play, since the "imprisoned" hero has not been discarded, and therefore that player has not been "removed" from the game? If this is the case, do enemies still engage that player? If so, can I let their attacks go undefended? Since I have no heros to absorb their undefended attacks, where does that damage go? Can the allies still participate in defending and attacking?

3) When does the Nazgul of Dol Guldur enter play? I can't find any clarification on the quest cards' text. Does he enter into the staging area during the quest phase, or does he directly engage a player?

4) Does anyone have any tips for deckbuilding for this quest?

I have been doing 2 separate "2 sphere decks". I have Aragorn and Theodred and Gimli in one deck and Eowyn, Beravor, and Dunhere in another. I've tried to build the decks 2/3 cards for the spheres that I have 2 heroes of and 1/3 cards of the hero that I have one sphere of. I've thought about shifting Aragorn over to build a "Leadership/spirit deck" since he can gain the spirit sphere with the Celebrian's stone. It seems like Tactics isn't real popular among you forum posters (from what I've read of relatively recent threads) but I like Gimil's hard hittin power.