More than 2 players?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Jegergryte

Jegergryte

• Members
  • 1,525 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 12:26 AM

So, I have been wondering. Has anyone tried playing with more than 2 players? 3 or 4? I figure this can be pretty chaotic, but is it doable? would you consider it pointless?

Make sure your brain is engaged, before putting your mouth into gear.

"What about the future...? We can only hope, we cannot however account for the minutiae of the quanta, as all accidents in an infinite space are inevitable."

GMLovlie's/Jegergryte's Cubicle direct link to supplements here.

#2 just_chris

just_chris

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 01:29 AM

Jegergryte said:

So, I have been wondering. Has anyone tried playing with more than 2 players? 3 or 4? I figure this can be pretty chaotic, but is it doable? would you consider it pointless?

Yo, I have about 20 years' experience with tabletop/miniatures wargaming, and in my experience multi-player (more than 2) is best played as 2 teams. If you look to military history as a guide, you'll find it's extremely rare to see more than 2 sides to any fight. And I've tried it with Warhammer 40k, and it's nigh-impossible to have a fun game with more than two sides to a battle.

If you want to play with more than 2 players, set it up as a 2-team game with multiple players per team. This means you won't have to muck about changing order of activation or anything else (it won't break the game system) - and besides, there are only two factions at this stage anyway :)

Good luck, let us know how you go!

#3 Cid_MCDP

Cid_MCDP

• Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 02:39 AM

Team games can be surprisingly flexible. We used to induct newer 40k players at my old FLGS by having them bring whatever models they had and then a veteran would fill in the remaining points to balance out the side.