Jump to content



Photo

Unique cards


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mejis

Mejis

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 11:00 PM

 Hi, just after some clarification from the rules (maybe I'm being stupid).

With respect to unique cards: "There can be only one unique card of the same title active at a time." So, for example, Desperado is a unique card, but there's only one copy in the core set anyway. I assume by title it means that if one were to have two copies of Desperado, you couldn't have them both in play?

I have seen elsewhere in videos people describing that any unique card overides any other unique card when played (i.e. the former gets trashed). Is this true, or is it just one title?

Thanks!



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,011 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:31 AM

If you play the same unique card as one you already have in play you have to trash one of them. Rulebook Page 11,

Unique Cards
Some cards have a unique symbol (?) in front of
their title. There can be only one unique card of the
same title active at a time. If a card with a unique
title becomes active, any other card that shares its
title is immediately trashed. This trashing cannot be
prevented.

Consoles are different in that you can only ever have one installed and cannot install another console once you have one installed. If you buy another core set you could put two Desperado in your deck up to a max of 3 if you bought two more core sets.

FAQ page 2,

Can the Runner install a new console if he already has one in
play?
No. The limit of 1 console per player prevents the Runner from
installing a second console, even if the Runner wishes to trash
the first.



#3 Mejis

Mejis

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:42 AM

 Thanks for the info. This helps a lot. I hadn't seen that in the FAQ.



#4 ffaristocrat

ffaristocrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:46 AM

 Not that it says only one card with the same title can be *active* at a time.

For the corp, that distinction means you can install multiple copies of unique cards (like Akitaro or Ash) but only one can be rezzed (active) at a time. So you could have Akitaro unrezzed on multiple servers and then as the Runner makes runs, you rez one to cheaply rez all the ice on the server. Then when the runner goes after a different server, you can rez the Akitaro on *that* server (which trashes the copy on the other server) and be able to cheaply rez ice on that server.



#5 Griffonstone

Griffonstone

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:36 PM

That's interesting! At the GenCon 2012 A:NR Finals, you will see Philip on the left playing the Runner Deck on the 1st Round having 2 Cyberfeeders on his Hardware Row. He then activates both of them to retrieve 2 Credits to install Crypsis. Now I think he may of made a mistake because you can only use Cyberfeeders to use ICE Breakers or install viruses not install an ICE Breaker. So lets say that he actually used the Cyberfeeder credit to pay for an ICE Breaker Program ability, it would then trash the other Cyberfeeder correct?



#6 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 10:45 PM

Griffonstone said:

That's interesting! At the GenCon 2012 A:NR Finals, you will see Philip on the left playing the Runner Deck on the 1st Round having 2 Cyberfeeders on his Hardware Row. He then activates both of them to retrieve 2 Credits to install Crypsis. Now I think he may of made a mistake because you can only use Cyberfeeders to use ICE Breakers or install viruses not install an ICE Breaker. So lets say that he actually used the Cyberfeeder credit to pay for an ICE Breaker Program ability, it would then trash the other Cyberfeeder correct?

First of all, Crypsis is an ice breaker and a virus, so using recurring credits from Cyberfeeder to pay for the installation of Crypsis is perfectly fine. And I don't understand your question at all :(   Why would any Cyberfeeder be trashed?



#7 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 12:24 AM

Saturnine said:

Griffonstone said:

 

That's interesting! At the GenCon 2012 A:NR Finals, you will see Philip on the left playing the Runner Deck on the 1st Round having 2 Cyberfeeders on his Hardware Row. He then activates both of them to retrieve 2 Credits to install Crypsis. Now I think he may of made a mistake because you can only use Cyberfeeders to use ICE Breakers or install viruses not install an ICE Breaker. So lets say that he actually used the Cyberfeeder credit to pay for an ICE Breaker Program ability, it would then trash the other Cyberfeeder correct?

 

 

First of all, Crypsis is an ice breaker and a virus, so using recurring credits from Cyberfeeder to pay for the installation of Crypsis is perfectly fine. And I don't understand your question at all :(   Why would any Cyberfeeder be trashed?

As far as I remeber CYBERFFEDER is not unique.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#8 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 01:03 AM

Ser Folly said:

 

As far as I remeber CYBERFFEDER is not unique.

Indeed. And if it was unique, he couldn't have two copies of Cyberfeeder installed in the first place.



#9 Griffonstone

Griffonstone

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 November 2012 - 08:11 AM

 My apologies I misread Crypsis. I though that it was a normal ICE Breaker and not a Virus. Also for some reason I thought Cyberfeeder was unique. Excuse my ignorance. Nothing to see here move along :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS