Jump to content



Photo

Stamina Potion and being knocked out


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lexxicon

Lexxicon

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:43 PM

Hello.  Based upon the wording in the guide when a player is knocked out they can only perform one action during their turn.  That action can only be to "stand up".

 

Here is my question.  Can you use a Stamina Potion during that turn?  The card does not state that it is an action.



#2 Flatusjae

Flatusjae

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:42 AM

Using potions dont cost action at all, you can do it for free. At least this is how I've understood and played it.

So that way, answer to your question is yes.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,655 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 01:48 AM

Based solely on the rules in the rulebook and on the card, I would be inclined to agree with Flat.  However, the FAQ has provided an answer which suggests you cannot do this:

Q: Can a knocked out hero do anything after standing up during his turn?
A: After performing a stand up action, the hero’s turn immediately ends.
This means the hero cannot suffer any fatigue to gain movement points
or use any other skills or abilities.

Granted this doesn't explicitly mention potions, but it does expressly forbid doing things that aren't actions (ie: spending fatigue to gain movement.)  You stand up, then your turn ends.  That is all.

Mind you, an adjacent hero could use a vitality potion on you, even before you've stood up, so a little teamwork can still help ensure you have full fatigue after standing.



#4 Terah

Terah

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 03:16 AM

I think you can't drink (or be fed) a stamina potion before you stand up because KO'ed heroes can't be targeted by anything except healing. Maybe a KO'ed hero could feed their stamina potion to a different standing hero before they stand up, seems wrong though.



#5 Lexxicon

Lexxicon

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 07:18 AM

I figured you could use it while standing up.  not after or before.  your turn consists of only standing up.  card can be used during your turn.

The wording of everything expressly forbids specific things and permits certain things.  leaving this in a grey area.  As the game is slightly sided towards the overlord in most cases (especially in act 2) I figured the heroes could get a gimme on this one lol



#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,655 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 12:54 PM

Terah said:

I think you can't drink (or be fed) a stamina potion before you stand up because KO'ed heroes can't be targeted by anything except healing. Maybe a KO'ed hero could feed their stamina potion to a different standing hero before they stand up, seems wrong though.

Good catch, I had forgotten about that.

Lexxicon said:

I figured you could use it while standing up.  not after or before.  your turn consists of only standing up.  card can be used during your turn.

According to the "Search Card Anatomy" box on page 10, the text which describes what a search card can do is an "ability."  Per the FAQ answer I quoted above, the hero cannot use any abilities.

I would venture to say that any game effect provided by any card is probably an "ability" for the figure who has control of it, although I will concede that I can't find such an explicit definition for every different type of card as this one for Search cards.  If you're unable to accept a ruling that doesn't explicitly name each and every thing it applies to or doesn't apply to, that's your prerogative.  As far as I'm concerned, the FAQ answer is perfectly clear.  When you use the "Stand Up" action, that's all you get to do this turn.



#7 Nexx

Nexx

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 06:47 AM

 I'm playing with Lexx and I would have to agree with you Steve O. I'm even a hero! In any case, I think that standing up is meant to be the only thing you can do on a turn. Point blank.

Sorry Lexx.

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS