Jump to content



Photo

Some elf questions…


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:05 AM

I'm new to the elves, have some questions. If this has been covered elsewhere, I apologize. I found a few threads dealing with some of these, but couldn't fully get my questions answered:

1) with Mortella (AoU 27) her text states: "quest. Action: Corrupt this unit to play a tactic out of an opponent's discard pile, ignoring loyalty costs, as if it were in your hand. Return that card to the bottom of its owner's deck."

That means if I choose, say…Grudgeborn Fury, I still have to pay 4 resources to play, but not pay for the dwarf loyalty, correct? There was some debate last night as to if all costs could be ignored, since it says to "play" the card. But the more I think about it, it doesn't seem right that the tactic would be no cost whatsoever.

2a) Shadow Warrior (AoU #2)'s text states: Forced: At the beginning of your turn, each player must assign 1 damage to any unit in his battlefield." This DOES count as indirect damage because the opponent chooses which of his units the damage is assigned to, correct?

2b) Hawkeye Archer (Firey Dawn #110)'s text states: "At the beginning of your turn, deal 1 damage to a target unit in any player's corresponding zone. That unit's controller may sacrifice a unit he controls to cancel the damage." This is NOT indirect damage, because the unit is targeted, correct?

2c) Outpost of Tiranoc (silent forge #47) text's states: "Whenever you deal indirect damage, deal an additional point of indirect damage." In this instance, I would deal an additional damage whenever Shadow Warrior's forced effect triggers, but not Hawkeye Archer's, correct? Also, does the Outpost allow me to deal 1 dmagae for every 1 indiert damage I deal, or just 1 damage every time I deal (any amount) of indirect damage?

Kind of a lot, I know. Thanks to anyone for some feedback/help!


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp


#2 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 03:16 PM

sammann11 said:

I'm new to the elves, have some questions. If this has been covered elsewhere, I apologize. I found a few threads dealing with some of these, but couldn't fully get my questions answered:

1) with Mortella (AoU 27) her text states: "quest. Action: Corrupt this unit to play a tactic out of an opponent's discard pile, ignoring loyalty costs, as if it were in your hand. Return that card to the bottom of its owner's deck."

That means if I choose, say…Grudgeborn Fury, I still have to pay 4 resources to play, but not pay for the dwarf loyalty, correct? There was some debate last night as to if all costs could be ignored, since it says to "play" the card. But the more I think about it, it doesn't seem right that the tactic would be no cost whatsoever.

2a) Shadow Warrior (AoU #2)'s text states: Forced: At the beginning of your turn, each player must assign 1 damage to any unit in his battlefield." This DOES count as indirect damage because the opponent chooses which of his units the damage is assigned to, correct?

2b) Hawkeye Archer (Firey Dawn #110)'s text states: "At the beginning of your turn, deal 1 damage to a target unit in any player's corresponding zone. That unit's controller may sacrifice a unit he controls to cancel the damage." This is NOT indirect damage, because the unit is targeted, correct?

2c) Outpost of Tiranoc (silent forge #47) text's states: "Whenever you deal indirect damage, deal an additional point of indirect damage." In this instance, I would deal an additional damage whenever Shadow Warrior's forced effect triggers, but not Hawkeye Archer's, correct? Also, does the Outpost allow me to deal 1 dmagae for every 1 indiert damage I deal, or just 1 damage every time I deal (any amount) of indirect damage?

Kind of a lot, I know. Thanks to anyone for some feedback/help!

1. You just pay the printed cost (ignoring loyalty) and any "additional costs", like sacrificing a unit.

2. It is not indirect damage since it doesn't say "indirect damage", and can't be placed wherever your opponent chooses (can't go on capital, for example).

2b. Also not indirect damage

2c. It does not add to either of the 2 cards you listed.  If you would deal 1 indirect damage with Bolt Thrower, for example, Output makes it 2.  If you would deal 3, Outpost makes it 4.  If you deal 1 indirect damage 4 times (from 4 separate effects), then outpost makes it deal 2 indirect damage 4 times.



#3 sammann11

sammann11

    Member

  • Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 03:20 AM

Thanks, Entropy42. That all makes sense now. So basically, indirect damage will always be written as such on the card text as "indirect damage". Or, another way to remember it would be that the opponent may choose wherever it goes. Thanks!


"Not all heros dwell in the light. Some limp in shadow." - Paul S. Kemp





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS