Jump to content



Photo

Staff of Shadow Use


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Nexx

Nexx

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 08:53 AM

 Hey guys (and possibly gals)

We just finished Act 1 but I have a question. Our OL has the Staff of Shadows and it's brought up a question. You see, the staff of Shadows doesn't have a weapon type on it and it doesn't look like it has any attack dice, so, is this a weapon that the OL has to equip on one of his lieutenants or is it an item he can always have in play and use when he wants?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. We just lost the Shadow Rune and we're outmatched. I'm playing a necro and let me tell you, that rune would have been Very useful, looks like I'll just keep on killing with my Reanimate (Spencer) whom the OL Hates with a passion.

 

Nexx



#2 LEGA

LEGA

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 08:21 PM

Rules (p.23 Relics):

The overlord version of a relic may be wielded by any lieutenant, and this is the only way the relic’s abilities can be used by the overlord. If the overlord has no lieutenant in a given quest, or if he opts to leave his relic behind (see below), he receives no benefit for the relic’s abilities. Each lieutenant can wield only one relic.
During the setup step of each quest, the overlord chooses which relic (if any) each of his lieutenants wields during the quest. Place the chosen Relic card next to the Lieutenant card. If the relic is not wielded by a lieutenant, the overlord keeps the card near his Overlord deck and its abilities are ignored during this quest. If a lieutenant wielding a relic is defeated during a quest, the abilities of that relic are ignored for the remainder of the quest but the overlord keeps the relic.

But I don't know if lieutenant wielding a relic was defeated and then reinforced does he returns wielding his relic?



#3 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 10:53 PM

Nexx said:

 Hey guys (and possibly gals)

We just finished Act 1 but I have a question. Our OL has the Staff of Shadows and it's brought up a question. You see, the staff of Shadows doesn't have a weapon type on it and it doesn't look like it has any attack dice, so, is this a weapon that the OL has to equip on one of his lieutenants or is it an item he can always have in play and use when he wants?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. We just lost the Shadow Rune and we're outmatched. I'm playing a necro and let me tell you, that rune would have been Very useful, looks like I'll just keep on killing with my Reanimate (Spencer) whom the OL Hates with a passion.

 Nexx



None of the Overlords versions of Relics have a weapons type on them. It is as Lega said, every lieutenant can wield any up to 1 relic.

LEGA said:

 
But I don't know if lieutenant wielding a relic was defeated and then reinforced does he returns wielding his relic?


We've been playing it this way. To us it looked logic that a reinforced lieutenant didn't loose his "weapon" (relic) when reinforced. The phrasing: If a lieutenant wielding a relic is defeated during a quest, the abilities of that relic are ignored for the remainder of the quest but the overlord keeps the relic. Looks like this is only relevant when the lieutenant can't be reinforced. That way you can't use a relic when the lieutenant is dead.



#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:46 PM

JohnMill said:

The phrasing: If a lieutenant wielding a relic is defeated during a quest, the abilities of that relic are ignored for the remainder of the quest but the overlord keeps the relic. Looks like this is only relevant when the lieutenant can't be reinforced. That way you can't use a relic when the lieutenant is dead.

 

 

 

 

"Defeated" is a defined game term.  It's what happens when a figure runs out of HP.  If that's the only relevant passage to be found, then it sounds to me like the relic is lost (for the remainder of this quest) after the LT is defeated for the first time, whether he can reinforce or not.



#5 Wrapped

Wrapped

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 10:23 AM

This mechanic can also be seen the other way around.

 

If you allow the LT to reinforce with the relic, the only way for the rules to apply is for the players to be able to kill the LT and complete the quest on the same turn. I am pretty sure that is not what was intended with this rule. I believe a reinforced LT is to be imagined as "a new LT" and not "the same LT that dies, gets ressurected and teleported back to where he first entered the map". The word "reinforce" being used instead of "ressurect" backs this up.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS