Jump to content



Photo

Agenda with no ICE bluff?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 08:32 PM

 Out of curiosity, has anyone here ever created a remote server containing just an agenda completely unprotected by ICE and managed to score said agenda because you'd bluffed the Runner into staying away?  I'd love to hear the tale, including any taunts and verbal attempts at manipulation involved.

Similar and related stories (such being used on you, a Runner, with it either working or failing (you saw through it and snagged the Agenda); the server actually hosting an Asset like Aggressive Secretary or Project Junebug or similar traps) would also be appreciated.



#2 Silent Requiem

Silent Requiem

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:35 PM

 I don't play anything unprotected except PAD Campaigns (in certain matches). However, I have had a corp try to play out an agenda unprotected without advancing it. Had I ignored it, he would have advanced and scored it next turn.

 

The trouble with that approach is that the only thing I don't want to run with no advancement counters is Snare. If I don't think you play Snare, I'm running whatever you put down.

 

Now, if you do advance it, then I'll "take a view". It depends on how close you are to winning, and how able I am to absorb the damage of the trap in a worst case scenario. Infiltration plays a role here, too.

 



#3 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,409 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:27 AM

I've been on both sides of that. I once put down a small agenda unprotected. The runner assumed it was a PAD and left it alone. I scored it on the next turn. Another time, I left alone an unrezzed unprotected card only to see the corp score it next turn. In both case, the corp was Weyland. I do play Snare! in that deck, though I prefer to keep it in hand (I mostly put PADs unprotected). As for the time when I was runner, I figured it was possible that it was a Snare! and didn't want to take the risk for a 1-point agenda. Infiltration is definitely a must for now.



#4 Paul Grogan

Paul Grogan

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 02:04 AM

In a tournament game on Sunday, I played down an ABT unprotected.   He didnt run it.

Next turn I scored it.

 

A few turns later, I put another one down, he didnt run it.  I scored that too.

 

It can work…..



#5 Kaic

Kaic

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:25 AM

I've done this.  I played an agenda unprotected and advanced it twice (if you don't advance it then the runner may run on it since almost all traps need counters to do anything).  They didn't run on it and I scored ABT.  I then played a security force with 2 counters a couple of turns later.  They didn't run on it and I scored it agian.  The third time I did it, the card was a aggressive secretary…. They ran that time ;)



#6 riastradh

riastradh

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 04:09 AM

Play your opponent. If you think he/she will fall for the bluff, by all means…



#7 Toloran

Toloran

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:23 AM

 My GF plays a deck that's heavy in ambush cards. Her favorite first-turn play is to put down two remote servers and advance one, leaving both unprotected. I've had it end up being just about every combination of agendas, assets, and traps (including one game here she did two agendas and ended up scoring both because I assumed that the one she didn't score was either an asset or a trap).



#8 Kaic

Kaic

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:46 AM

Toloran said:

 My GF plays a deck that's heavy in ambush cards. Her favorite first-turn play is to put down two remote servers and advance one, leaving both unprotected. I've had it end up being just about every combination of agendas, assets, and traps (including one game here she did two agendas and ended up scoring both because I assumed that the one she didn't score was either an asset or a trap).

If she does this then you should run on the installed card that wasn't advanced every time.  The only trap that can take effect without advancement tokens is Snare.  Worst case scenario, you're down a few cards and credits.  On the other hand she has no credits at the start of her next turn.



#9 squatting monkey

squatting monkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:56 AM

Remember that if they have Bank Job in play, they can pull money off of their resource without ever revealing your card.  I will always take a run on an unprotected server when this card is in play.  To maximize I would run it, use bank job, then run it again to reveal the card.



#10 mdc273

mdc273

    Member

  • Members
  • 973 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 08:01 AM

I can tell you that against me that trick is unlikely to work. I run like a mad-man and I came in 4th in the Icebreaker tournament. What will happen is that I'll run on it. If it's a Snare, I'll eat my 3 damage and a tag and end my turn. If not, then I just scored your agenda.

Now, if you throw down a Snare unprotected AND an agenda unprotected, the math changes. I actually HAVE done that. People get scared when you see both and now there's a 50/50 chance you hit a Snare and waste your whole turn. It's still not the best idea, but it is more possible to push through an agenda that way.



#11 Suka044

Suka044

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 08:49 AM

 yup i was playing Jinteki and on the first turn i placed an agenda with 1 advance counter on it and left it there unprotected for quite awhile. he thought it was junebug project. i probably would have thought the same thing. it was pretty funny when i scored it though



#12 Frosty Hardtop

Frosty Hardtop

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 05:04 AM

 It all comes down to luck, I suppose. I'm much more likely to run against an unprotected card if it's NBN than say, Jinteki.

I've pitched 7 agenda points worth of agendas into the Archives just to see if my opponent would run Archives, and he never did. The game is funny sometimes. Just put on your best poker face and play the game. Keep in mind though, it takes one Infiltration to ruin your ruse.



#13 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,135 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 06:09 AM

I put down 3 assets last night in to servers with no ice. Sadly my opponent did not fall for it. Maybe if I had advanced one of them that might have convinced him to at least try but he had destroyed 2 of my 3 ice in R&D so was making good use of running R&D plus his mediums.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS