Jump to content



Photo

Conditional 'At the beginning of your turn'-abilities


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 231 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 10:55 PM

I was just wondering if two or more of those abilities would trigger at the beginning of your turn.

There's an example on page 22 core rules: 'Aesop's Pawnshop' and 'Wyldside' active, 'Pawnshop' trashes/sells 'Wyldside' -> no second effect.

Initially I thought that there is no other effect because technically after resolving the 'Pawnshop' ability the beginning of the runner's term has passed so that there is no second effect triggered.

But then I realized that 'Wyldside' is no longer around and thus can't trigger.

So what if the 'Pawnshop' had sold let's say 'The Toolbox' and 'Wyldside' is still active, would it trigger or is the trigger condition no longer valid as 'pawnshop' already ended the 'beginning of your turn'?

Is there anything in the rules?


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#2 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,393 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 12:40 AM

Wyldside's effect would still go off, because the game is still resolving beginning-of-the-turn events (like multiple PAD or Adonis).

On a side note: I hope you're not seriously thinking of trashing the Toolbox to Aesop's Pawnshop (remember that Aesop's is optional).



#3 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 231 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 02:15 AM

Thanks for the clarification!

And 'no' I'd never trade my toolbox.

Khudzlin said:

 

On a side note: I hope you're not seriously thinking of trashing the Toolbox to Aesop's Pawnshop (remember that Aesop's is optional).

 

 

You sprung the trap Khudzlin!!!!

 

Actually I chose the toolbox for my example intentionally to see whether anyone would comment on the sheer absurdity of the notion of trashing the HOLY TOOLBOX. To me it seems the closest thing to the holy grail A:NR has.

I have to apologize for that little test of mine.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,997 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 03:22 AM

Ser Folly said:

Is there anything in the rules?

 

Yes, page 22

Simultaneous Effects
When one or more abilities have the same timing trigger or
can be triggered at the same time, each player chooses the
order his own abilities trigger. A player can trigger an optional
conditional ability before a required conditional ability if they
both have the same trigger condition.



#5 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 231 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:01 AM

That's actually the part of the rulebook I 'quoted' myself. Close Reading can be of help…sometimes.

So they actually trigger simultaneously but are resolved in whatever order the player chooses. If some ability became obsolete it does no langer resolve.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#6 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,997 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:11 AM

Ser Folly said:

So they actually trigger simultaneously but are resolved in whatever order the player chooses. If some ability became obsolete it does no langer resolve.

Correct it would no longer resolve.



#7 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,393 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 07:03 PM

Ser Folly said:

Actually I chose the toolbox for my example intentionally to see whether anyone would comment on the sheer absurdity of the notion of trashing the HOLY TOOLBOX. To me it seems the closest thing to the holy grail A:NR has.

I have to apologize for that little test of mine.

Hehe, it just seems absurd to pay 9 credits to install the Toolbox and then deprive yourself of its 2 recurring credits (not to mention the extra memory and link) by trashing it for only 3 credits.



#8 Suka044

Suka044

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:01 AM

so just to make sure if i have wyldside and pawnshop out at the start of my turn if i dont want to draw cards i can use pawn shop to trash wyldside to gain the 3 credits before having to draw the cards and lose a click?



#9 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,997 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:08 AM

Suka044 said:

so just to make sure if i have wyldside and pawnshop out at the start of my turn if i dont want to draw cards i can use pawn shop to trash wyldside to gain the 3 credits before having to draw the cards and lose a click?

Yes that is the very example used in the rulebook on page 22.



#10 Suka044

Suka044

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 08:36 AM

 oh haha great. the rules book is so big i must have missed that






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS