Jump to content



Photo

Snipers, Spotter and Angela - are the abilities separated for the sniper squad?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

 Yesterday when playing with Angela embedded with the snipers, I had to lose 1 unit. I chose to lose the sniper unit because I wanted to keep the spotter alive to enhance Angela's frenzy skill.

My question: Are the 2 skills (sniper and spotter) particular to each unit or does both units share the abilities?

Followup: 

If only my spotter was left would he have the sniper ability when attacking?

Thank you.



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 03:04 PM

Each figure possesses one of the Skills. if the guy with the rifle dies, you no longer have the Sniper skill; if the guy with the binoculars dies, you no longer have the Spotter skill.



#3 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 12:58 PM

 Thanks for the reply. That is what I thought. Just wanted to check.



#4 Jiltedtoo

Jiltedtoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 155 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:45 PM

My understanding is the spotter never receives the sniper ability, but the sniper and spotter receive the spotter ability when rolling hits. If the spotter goes, the sniper loses the spotter ability. If the sniper goes, the spotter still has the spotter ability but never had the sniper ability to begin with.



#5 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 05:09 PM

Jiltedtoo said:

My understanding is the spotter never receives the sniper ability, but the sniper and spotter receive the spotter ability when rolling hits. If the spotter goes, the sniper loses the spotter ability. If the sniper goes, the spotter still has the spotter ability but never had the sniper ability to begin with.

That is correct sir.



#6 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 05:28 PM

Not quite correct. The soldier with the rifle doesn't "receive" the spotter ability, it belongs only to the soldier with the binoculars. What happens is that the Spotter ability rules state that its effect takes place "When his squad attacks", so the other soldier benefits from its effect. The Sniper rules, on the other hand only state that it affects the figure that has it.



#7 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 04:59 PM

A unit with this skill carries binoculars and always accompanies a sniper or a heavy
weapons squad in order to increase their accuracy. When his squad attacks,
reverse the dice results (i.e., consider as , and as ). Because
dice results are reversed, a unit including a spotter rerolls results (instead of
results) when performing a sustained attack.

 

Note the above quot from the core rule spotter skill. It says ' when his squad attacks”
We have always counted the spotter as hitting on blanks in our leagues and tournaments.
I think this is one to ask the FFG rule guys.



#8 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 12:05 PM

What is there to ask? When anybody in his squad attacks, they hit on blanks.



#9 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:49 PM

My point is the spotter is part of the squad.



#10 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:07 PM

Sure, is anybody saying differently?



#11 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:12 PM

My point is both the spotter and the sniper hit on blanks as long as the spotter is alive.



#12 Jiltedtoo

Jiltedtoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 155 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 10:29 PM

 which was my point in my example.



#13 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 12 October 2012 - 01:34 AM

Panzer soldier said:

My point is both the spotter and the sniper hit on blanks as long as the spotter is alive.

Yep, a point nobody contested.



#14 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 12 October 2012 - 06:13 PM

So what was your beef in the first place Loopy? were you bored?



#15 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:26 AM

 I'm getting lost in this discussin, Panzer Soldier what exactly made you so angry at Loophole?



#16 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 13 October 2012 - 07:01 PM

I thing we were all saying the same thing but didn't realize it. It's sad I can have a decent conversation on face book about dust, but not on this site. It's pathetic really.



#17 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 03:33 AM

 Beef? I have no beef. I was just saying that it's the binoculars guy who has the Spotter skill, but the rifle guy also benefits from it. While it's the rifle guy who has the Sniper skill, but only he benefits from it.

To me it was always clear we were saying the same thing, you were the only who didn't realize it. So keep that "sad an pathetic" comment directed at yourself.



#18 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:11 PM

I think my only mistake was paying attention to what you wrote in the first place.



#19 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:36 AM

Don't beat yourself up, to err is human.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS