Jump to content



Photo

confused about command squads - multiple questions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 05:59 PM

 I have some questions for command squads as I find some of the wording contradictory or at least unclear in the rulebook.

quote with bold and italics added
-------------------------------
Some of a Command Squad’s abilities are very potent. When a player activates this unit, he must announce which skill he wants to use. Some abilities also require a die roll to see if the unit is allowed to use the skill. If he obtains a hit , he may use the skill; if he obtains a miss, he cannot use the skill and he is not allowed to try using any other Command Squad skill until the next round.


The Radioman’s Relay skill is always active and does not require a die roll. As such, it is possible to use an Officer’s skill in conjunction with the Radioman’s Relay skill (since it is always active). However, using the Radioman’s Relay skill with other Command Squad abilities is the only possible way to use more than one Command Squad skill during the same round.


A player can only attempt to use one Command Squad skill once per round. If the attempt is not successful, that player cannot attempt any other Command Squad abilities during this round.
-------------------------------
I understand that if you roll for some command skills and you fail then you can not use any other command skills but what about the the following?
Can you use 2 special abilities in one round?
1. Can you use 2 different skills such as:heal a hero/squad and also repair a walker if both happen to be adjacent?
2. Can you use the same skill twice such as heal a hero/squad for 2 hit points in a turn?


quote
-------------------------------
Field Repair – Mechanic (Skill)
The Mechanic can use his tools to reassemble a vehicle that was destroyed during the battle. Perform one Skill action and roll one die. On a hit result, the player finishes the Command Squad’s activation and then immediately activates the repaired vehicle, which enters the battlefield from its side’s deployment spaces.
-------------------------------
3. If for the 1st action there is a success with Field Repair can the player then finish their 2nd action by moving/attacking/healing adjacent squad for 1 hit point --OR-- is their activation finished and they “lose” the 2nd action before activating the repaired vehicle

followup:

4. If you succeed in Field Repair can you also use Come on Guys; We’re Going Back out there. If so how do you activate 2 units in row?

quote
-------------------------------
Smoke Mortars (SKILL)
The Field Officer can call in a special Artillery Strike
-------------------------------
5. Does smoke mortar (skill) need an unactivated artillery unit in play or is calling in a “magical” out of play bombardment such as from naval guns or a out of play rear mortar?

Followup:
What happens if the Lothar unit needs to reload? Can it still fire the Smoke Mortar?
What happens if the Steel Rain unit is out of missiles? This should not count as a missile?

 

Thank you.



#2 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:40 PM

 A command squad can only use one special action a turn.



#3 ??!

??!

    Member

  • Members
  • 513 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 01:27 AM

1. Can you use 2 different skills such as:heal a hero/squad and also repair a walker if both happen to be adjacent?
2. Can you use the same skill twice such as heal a hero/squad for 2 hit points in a turn?
In any given turn, a Command squad can neither use 2 different of its abilities nor the same ability twice.
3. If for the 1st action there is a success with Field Repair can the player then finish their 2nd action by moving/attacking/healing adjacent squad for 1 hit point --OR-- is their activation finished and they “lose” the 2nd action before activating the repaired vehicle
The Command squad may finish its activation by performing a second action but may not perform another of its special actions.
4. If you succeed in Field Repair can you also use Come on Guys; We’re Going Back out there. If so how do you activate 2 units in row?
No.
5. Does smoke mortar (skill) need an unactivated artillery unit in play or is calling in a “magical” out of play bombardment such as from naval guns or a out of play rear mortar?
In fact, it’s a magical bombardment coming from out of play.
Followup:
What happens if the Lothar unit needs to reload? Can it still fire the Smoke Mortar?
What happens if the Steel Rain unit is out of missiles? This should not count as a missile?
Yes to both because the artillery walkers don’t fire the Smoke mortars.



#4 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 03:07 PM

Only a single Command Squad skill use/attempt per turn.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS