Jump to content



Photo

Questions about force dome


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rennrh

Rennrh

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 02:41 PM

Force Dome 

 
Action: Full
Opposed: No
Range: 5m x PR radius
Sustained: Yes
Description: Summoning up a shimmering field of force, the Librarian fashions a shell around himself and nearby allies. The shell is a sphere extending up to the radius around, above, and below the Librarian and protecting him and any within it. The shell provides 2 AP x PR against all kinds of ranged attacks or hazardous environmental effects (this additional protection stacks with any worn Armour), even trapping air and water within it. However, it does not stop melee attacks or creatures (friend or foe) that may pass through it without restriction.
 
1. Can you move with force dome or is it  immobile?
2. The shell adds AP to existing power armor, so it's not treated like cover?
3. Can anyone within the force dome shoot out of it, or does the protection against ranged attacks affect incoming and outgoing ranged attacks?


#2 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,071 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 05:34 PM

Rennrh said:

1. Can you move with force dome or is it  immobile?
2. The shell adds AP to existing power armor, so it's not treated like cover?
3. Can anyone within the force dome shoot out of it, or does the protection against ranged attacks affect incoming and outgoing ranged attacks?

My immediate, without looking at the book or errata, judgments are

1.You may move

2. Not cover

3.You can shoot out



#3 herichimo

herichimo

    Member

  • Members
  • 887 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 06:04 AM

Rennrh said:

 

1. Can you move with force dome or is it  immobile?
2. The shell adds AP to existing power armor, so it's not treated like cover?
3. Can anyone within the force dome shoot out of it, or does the protection against ranged attacks affect incoming and outgoing ranged attacks?

 

 

1. Entry does not say it is an immobile shield, in fact it seems to very vaguely imply the shield is mobile (no point in trapping air in it if you'd just float or sink out of it). Though it is always centered on the Librarian (he CAN NOT 'shift' or move it in any way, say 10 meters to the left to cover the battle-brother who tripped and is now exposed).

2. AP to armour for ranged and environmental effects, not melee.

3. Can shoot out, anyone outside of the dome gains no benefit, even from fire coming from within the dome. ANYONE (friend or foe) inside the force dome gains the AP bonus, even if the shooter is also inside the dome.



#4 Thebigjul

Thebigjul

    Member

  • Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 08:02 PM

Just as I see it, I'm not really ok with the latest point made.

People shooting each other inside the dome have no AP Bonus, it is a dome not a shield on everyone inside the aera.

So basically the dome interfere with any shooting coming from outside but there's no reason that it works when combat are inside.



#5 Charmander

Charmander

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,491 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:29 AM

Thebigjul said:

Just as I see it, I'm not really ok with the latest point made.

People shooting each other inside the dome have no AP Bonus, it is a dome not a shield on everyone inside the aera.

So basically the dome interfere with any shooting coming from outside but there's no reason that it works when combat are inside.

I think this is the way the rules are written as well, but again, book not in front of me.  However you slice it, this is the way I play as well, the force dome is like a wall that surrounds the group, not a continuous field.



#6 herichimo

herichimo

    Member

  • Members
  • 887 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 01:27 AM

Good points.

looked over it again and I can say I agree with you. Although, any shooting from outside the dome to enemies inside of it would obviously benefit.

I think one of our players claimed that was what an FFG rules person told him in an e-mail, but until such e-mail is provided I'll go with the ruling from the above 2 posts.



#7 Thebigjul

Thebigjul

    Member

  • Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:41 AM

Exactly, any ennemy inside will benefit from the force dome also and gai AP when shoot from outside.

 



#8 borithan

borithan

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:57 PM

We certainly ran it as a bubble that moved around with the Librarian and added to armour when someone was shot from outside the bubble. Those firing at each other within the bubble didn't get the benefit, and shooting from within to outside the bubble was also unaffected.

Not got the book, so I can't tell for certain if that is what you are meant to do, but it worked quite nicely that way.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS