Jump to content



Photo

Strengthening Programs During a Run


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 bedstvie

bedstvie

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:48 AM

 Runner Dirtbags and Corporate Scum,

A question: when making a run on a server, is a runner permitted to continue spending credits to strengthen a program after a subsequent ice has been rezzed? Example: making a run on a server with Crypsis.First ice is rezzed Matrix Analyzer, strength of three.One credit is spent to beat trace subroutine, three credits are spent to increase strength of Crypsis to three. Matrix Analyzer is defeated, next ice is rezzed by corp. It's a Tollbooth, strenght five. At this point, if the runner opts not to jack out, is he stuck with a Crypsis with a strength of three, or can he pay the two credits to increase the Crypsis to a strength that will beat Tollbooth? Or, is each ice encounter a separate event requiring the runner to re-up a program as necessary for each encounter? Also, do program strengths in a runner's rig stack? 

Thanks in advance!



#2 ffaristocrat

ffaristocrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:37 AM

Boosts to icebreaker strength are only maintained for the encounter with that ice. So Crypsis would reset back to a strength of 0.

Unless, of course, the card says otherwise which is the case with the Shaper icebreakers. They explicitly say the icebreaker strength boost lasts for the duration of the run.



#3 Scud-O

Scud-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 11:41 AM

 Also, you only NEED to boost the strength of an icebreaker IF you want to break any subroutines on a piece of ICE. If a piece of ICE has one subroutine [Subroutine] Trace 2 - if successful, give the Runner 1 tag, then you don't have to raise your icebreaker's strength at all if you just want to pay to beat the trace. Unless a piece of ICE has a subroutine of [Subroutine] End the run, you don't get stopped by it, you only get hit with the subroutines and then pass to the next ICE or to the server. In other words, in your example, if you pay one credit to cause the trace to fail, you don't need to raise Crypsis's strength at all, you just move on to the next piece of ICE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#4 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 06:53 PM

 And program strengths do NOT stack.



#5 bedstvie

bedstvie

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 02:31 AM

 Thanks for the helpful replies! Another question in the vein of stacking programs. So, program strengh does not stack. That makes sense. What muddies the waters a little bit is when the rules say that multiple programs can be used in a single ice encounter, but is seldom useful. Seldom is not never, so when WOULD that action be useful, and how does it work?

Thanks again for answering my questions!



#6 ChaosChild

ChaosChild

    Member

  • Members
  • 526 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 07:40 AM

Best example I could think of would be using Wyrm to lower the strength of an ICE so that you can use Yog.0 or Mimic to break the subroutines (since they don't have any way to raise their own strength).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS