Jump to content



Photo

Noise's ability


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rottencat

Rottencat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 08:47 AM

My question is about the wording.

 

"Whenever you install a Virus program the Corp trashes the top card of R&D."

I have played this as a face up discard from the deck and as a face down. Depending on who I playing against. I don't feel like having a rules debate during a game.

SO here is my question because I seem to find support for both face up and face down in the rules that apply… (I think) but this is not clear to me.

The rules on pg14 about Discard Phase would not apply because Noise's text does not say discard.

The rules on pg18 about Trashing Cards would not apply because the Trash cost was not paid.

The rules glossary on pg31 define "Trash: The act of moving a card to its owner's trash pile." Again doesn't help the question be answered.

The rules pg13 under installing cards say, "Trashed cards go to Archives faceup of they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed." But this is about installed unrezzed card. So does this apply to the top card of R&D?

Have I missed something in the rules that would solve this question?

If it seems like I am difficult about this it is because I have not found the an answer yet. SO if anyone has any thoughts on this lets get this solved.

 


Thanks for your time

 

Rottencat

 

 

 

 

 

 



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:11 AM

They go to Archives face down. Cards in R&D are inactive. Also that way the runner cannot see what the card is.And finally you are wrong saying that the rules on trashing do not apply as Noise's card says quite clearly on it "….trashes the top card of R&D"



#3 Rottencat

Rottencat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:18 AM

Thank you for your quick reply.

 

Can you site the rule book that proofs your answer? Just so the question is put solved for once and for all.

Thanks again,

 

Rottencat



#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 09:46 AM

I'll do even better, I will give you a direct quote from the games designer from an email in regards to this ability "Cards should not change their 'state' when trashed."



#5 Rottencat

Rottencat

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 11:37 AM

Have him add that to the FAQ sometime.

Thanks

 

Rottencat

 



#6 wiptag

wiptag

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 04:04 PM

My friend and I played a game, and this came up as well.  I do believe that the rule applies to all situations, not just regarding installed ICE.  It's just a somewhat misplaced, yet important rule.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS