Jump to content



Photo

Reactive Fire and Artillery Strike


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:51 PM

 Can Foxtrot 13 call in an artillery strike as a reactive fire?

Situation: round 2. Angela + Snipers move to get LOS on Foxtrot 13. Can he call in Artillery Strike as reactive fire from Steel Rain with a regular reactive fire roll?

I don't think so but wanted to double check.

Thank you.



#2 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 05:55 AM

 No, on reactive fire you get an attack action while artillery strike is a special ability that costs an action.



#3 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 06:09 PM

Yep, that's what I am seeing Too.
 

"If you obtain a your unit immediately activates and performs a single Attack action
with all weapon lines that have sufficient range to target the opposing unit. Once you’re
done, the enemy unit continues with its action."
 

I quoted that from the reactive fire section of the revised core rules. I think the key here is that the unit is allowed an attack action only. Artillery strike is a special ability not an attack action and could not be used with reactive fire.
 

That's the way I read it. Good question man, I had to dig on that one.



#4 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 12:54 AM

 But remember, you can also use an ability that doesn't require an action to use, such as "heroic attack", even if you don't roll a hit.



#5 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 05:57 AM

 Wut? RLY? So i can start heroic attack even when my reactive fire fails?!



#6 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:29 AM

fhaugh said:

 But remember, you can also use an ability that doesn't require an action to use, such as "heroic attack", even if you don't roll a hit.

 

I'm mostly sure that this is incorrect and you would need the hit to be able to use the ability.



#7 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 02:22 PM

From page 16 of the RCS rulebook:

"Reactive Fire temporarily interrupts the action of an enemy unit to allow one of your units
to open fire. In order to perform this action, you must first select one of your unactivated
units and roll one die. If you obtain a , your unit does not get to fire at the enemy. In
fact, if you fail your roll, your unit is considered activated for this game
round,"

From page 21:

"Using this skill does not require an action, but the hero must activate in order
to use the skill."
 

I really wish the forum search engine was better because I know I've seen this argued before.  "Heroic Attack" only requires the hero/squad be activated.  Whether your die roll is successful or not, the unit is activated.  The die roll only determines if you may perform the attack action.  Any skill that does not require an action could be used.  Right now "Heroic Attack" is the only skill that doesn't require an action except the ones that modify your attack (beserk, spotter, etc.) IIRC.

On a related note, FFG should find a place to post all the rule questions they answer so others may view them.  Or have I overlooked it somehow?

 



#8 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 06 October 2012 - 05:11 PM

 Yea but if you fail the reactive fire roll you don't activate, you lose the activation instead of activating. 



#9 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 01:30 AM

fhaugh said:

From page 16 of the RCS rulebook:

"…if you fail your roll, your unit is considered activated for this game
round,"

Again, your unit is ACTIVATED no matter the result of the die roll.  "Heroic Attack" only requires the unit be activated.  Failing the die roll only means you lose the attack action. 



#10 ??!

??!

    Member

  • Members
  • 513 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 02:13 AM

From the Revised Rules (page 17): "To attempt using Reactive Fire, roll one die. If you roll a Hit , you get to perform a single Attack action. You can also activate a skill that does not require an action. If you roll a Miss, your Reactive Fire failed. You do not perform an Attack action. Whether your roll is a Hit or a Miss, your unit is activated for the rest of the game round."
It says that if you roll a Hit, you may attack and use a skill that doesn't require an activation, but if you miss, you may not attack. It doesn't say you may not activate a skill. Furthermore, the last sentence clearly states that the unit is activated. So I'd suppose you may use the skill regardless of your die roll.



#11 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 05:46 PM

I just don't think he gets it fellas.



#12 Panzer soldier

Panzer soldier

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 05:46 PM

I just don't think he gets it fellas.



#13 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 11:19 PM

 Who doesn't get what?



#14 TallDwarf

TallDwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 03:42 PM

 This resulted in a deeper question that I would have imagined. Great give and take on the forums. I agree that that spotter unit can fire its guns but not call in artillery.



#15 fhaugh

fhaugh

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 11:19 PM

 Welcome to the forums.  We never give a simple quick answer.  Just wait until some of the other regulars get involved.  You'll learn more than you ever thought there was to know about any game.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS