Jump to content



Photo

Leap attack vs Immobilize


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 pyrefly1986

pyrefly1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:34 PM

OL vs players …

OL says since leap attack is a special action and not a move action he can perform leap attack while immobilized.

Players say leap attack uses move and won't work if immobilized.

Who is right?



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:45 PM

By a literal interpretation of the rules, the OL is correct.  Immobilize forbids the figure from using a "move action" (which is a defined game term) or from spending fatigue to gain MPs.  It does not forbid other actions that happen to allow the figure to move.

You can always make a house rule that says Immobilize "prevents the figure from spending MPs" to avoid this sort of thematic discontinuity (there are effects that permit moving without MPs, but it's mostly exotic stuff like teleporting, which is easier to swallow as working while immobilized.)  That would, of course, be a house rule that everyone at the table would need to agree with using.

Then again, apes have long, very muscular arms so maybe the monster pushed off with his hands to start the Leap Attack.  (Heroes can still attack while immobilized, so we know your arms still work.)



#3 pyrefly1986

pyrefly1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:07 PM

Ok I agree with that logic, but does that mean that with the character "Brother Glyr" who's hero ability is "In adddition to your 2 actions on your turn you always receive 2 movement points"

In the scenario of Brother Glyr is immobilized, he would be unable to perform a move action and he wouldn't be able to use fatigue to gain movement points, but he would still be able to "spend" his two movement points even though he was immobilized?

 



#4 Terah

Terah

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 03:35 AM

pyrefly1986 said:

Ok I agree with that logic, but does that mean that with the character "Brother Glyr" who's hero ability is "In adddition to your 2 actions on your turn you always receive 2 movement points"

In the scenario of Brother Glyr is immobilized, he would be unable to perform a move action and he wouldn't be able to use fatigue to gain movement points, but he would still be able to "spend" his two movement points even though he was immobilized?

Yes.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS