Jump to content



Photo

newbie questions after 4 games.


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 madprof666

madprof666

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:27 AM

 jumped straight in with a campaign and i LOVE this game. be and the mrs are having a blast but up to know i cant find exact answers to these problems ive come across, apologies if these have been asked before.

1/ in “The Masquerade Ball” does it cost an action point to turn over a guest? and if so does it cost another to escort him? or do you turn it over as soon as you are in base contact and automatically escort them. i can only find that it costs an action point to escort an already revealed guest.

 

2/ do heroes block line of sight for ranged attacks from other heroes?

 

3/ does an arrow ability on a monster card exhaust the monster card or can it be played twice with frenzy?

 

4/ if a hero is on the entrance and you need to spawn a 4/6 base monster, can you spawn him or do you have to wait for the hero to move?

 

5/ if a monster spawns at the START of the turn can he activate as normal?

 

6/ can 2 one handed weapons be equipped in a turn so you can do one melee attack and one long range attack?

 

7/ can the old decent expansions be used on this game as ill definately want to expand on this….its fantastic!!!!

 



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:59 AM

madprof666 said:

{questions}

 

Welcome to Descent.  Here's my take:

1)  I don't have the Quest Guide to check the wording now.

2)  Yes (there is a Wildlander hero skill for this -- Eagle Eyes).

3)  No, it is an {action} symbol, not an exhaust (tap).  According to FFG, however, Frenzy only allows a "normal" attack action, not a monster action.

4)  AFAIK, there is no spawn blocking.  The monster spawns in the closest available spot.

5)  Yes.

6)  Yes.

7)  No, the games are not compatible.  There is a conversion kit that contains hero & monster cards for figures from D1E.  You can substitute other figures (proxies) if you buy the CK, without owning D1E, to expand your hero & monster choices.



#3 madprof666

madprof666

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 02:43 AM

 thanks for the help thats great. ill open a new thread regarding the masqurade ball. i cant find it anywhere



#4 mustardayonnaiz

mustardayonnaiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 03:22 AM

I am pretty sure that it states that it requires an action to "unmask" or "reveal" a guest

If it is a guest then you are escorting him, you put him under your hero base, if it is a flesh moulder, the moulder attacks you first

I think it states that in the instructions, but I don't have my guide either.

If you kill a monster then it would require  an action to start escorting that guest that the monster  just dropped, if you are defeated while escorting a guest that guest is killed.



#5 madprof666

madprof666

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:14 AM

 makes perfect sense to me, thanks loads



#6 Terah

Terah

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:36 AM

mustardayonnaiz said:

I am pretty sure that it states that it requires an action to "unmask" or "reveal" a guest

If it is a guest then you are escorting him, you put him under your hero base, if it is a flesh moulder, the moulder attacks you first

I think it states that in the instructions, but I don't have my guide either.

Confirmed - I just checked that quest.



#7 Flatusjae

Flatusjae

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:18 AM

Oh, regarding question number 6 and answer to that, I've always played so that monsters that are reinforced at the start of the turn are not activated unless said so.

Now that I think about it, it's obivious. What else point there would be to reinforce at the start of the turn? But I quess I've quite often been so much on top of the heroes that I've given some room for them to breath for the overall fun.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS