Jump to content



Photo

Basic Questions (Newbie Alert!)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 morenachos

morenachos

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:31 PM

 My fellow Speakers,

I have only played TI once before and I don't think the guy running it had much of a clue.  Recently, I got ahold of the game for myself and have set it up in an attempt to learn it on my own, so I can teach it to others.  On a side note, I really enjoy massive, epic, complex games - which TI is at the top of the list.

Anywho, on with my questions.  I did search the forums and the multiple FAQs, but nothing helped.  I appreciate your assistance as I crawl through the mound of rules.

 

1. The rulebook states in step 11 of the set-up, that all players start with 3 Command Counters in the Fleet Supply.  The Fleet supply dictates how big a fleet can be in any given system.  However, on round one some of the races are in violation already.  For example, The Nekro Virus starts with 1 Space Dock, 2 Cruisers and a Carrier as ships.  That's four.  Do Space Docks count as a "ship"?  If so, how does this work?

 

2. During the Status Phase, each player receives 2 Command Tokens.  Is he allowed to put BOTH in the same Area?  …or does this not really matter because the very next step allows you to 'reorganize' the counters…?

 

3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool.  That I get.  So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right?

 

4. Being that Mercenaries (SotT) count as part of your fleet limit, is it best to let them float around space on their own so you collect their benefit - or are they better to have with your fleet because of their Evasion tactic?  I am trying to figure out how best to use them.

 

That's it for now.  Again, I appreciate your help in advance.  Thank you.

 



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:25 PM

morenachos said:

 My fellow Speakers,

I have only played TI once before and I don't think the guy running it had much of a clue.  Recently, I got ahold of the game for myself and have set it up in an attempt to learn it on my own, so I can teach it to others.  On a side note, I really enjoy massive, epic, complex games - which TI is at the top of the list.

Anywho, on with my questions.  I did search the forums and the multiple FAQs, but nothing helped.  I appreciate your assistance as I crawl through the mound of rules.

 

Always nice to get a fellow Emperor / Speaker / King / President / Headmaster (etc. in absurdum).
And remember: there are NO stupid questions, only stupid answers. Speaking of which…

morenachos said:

1. The rulebook states in step 11 of the set-up, that all players start with 3 Command Counters in the Fleet Supply.  The Fleet supply dictates how big a fleet can be in any given system.  However, on round one some of the races are in violation already.  For example, The Nekro Virus starts with 1 Space Dock, 2 Cruisers and a Carrier as ships.  That's four.  Do Space Docks count as a "ship"?  If so, how does this work?

Space Docks are not ships and do not count towards your Fleet Supply. Not even those belonging to the Clan of Saar.

morenachos said:


 
2. During the Status Phase, each player receives 2 Command Tokens.  Is he allowed to put BOTH in the same Area?  …or does this not really matter because the very next step allows you to 'reorganize' the counters…?

 

Yes he is allowed and no it doesn't really matter at that point, as you say, due to the reorginization of Command Counters (CC's). There are, however, other instances where a player might gain more CC's. At that point it is vitally important to place them in the pool(s) that best serves your current plan. If it serves you best to put all of them in your Fleet Supply then you are absolutley free to do so.

morenachos said:


 
3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool.  That I get.  So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right?

Correct. However, you should always keep an eye on your Fleet Supply before you build. Also, you shoud always remember that you are not allowed to move ships out of an already activated system. Thus, it is almost always prudent to first move the ships in your home system away before building there as otherwise; A: you won't be able to build as much; and B: you won't be able to use any ships, or other units, left in it when you're finished building.

(unless, of course, you happen to have the Warfare Strategy Card or the Action Card that mimics that Strategy Card's Primary effect)

morenachos said:



4. Being that Mercenaries (SotT) count as part of your fleet limit, is it best to let them float around space on their own so you collect their benefit - or are they better to have with your fleet because of their Evasion tactic?  I am trying to figure out how best to use them.

That depends on what the Mercenary in question does. There is one, for example, that acts as an extra PDS when on a planet. To have im fly around in space is kind of a waste in my oppinion. Then there's the Merc with a Carrying Capacity of 1. A very useful PDS-shuttle in my eyes.
Always remember, though, to NEVER let your mercenaries be alone on any planet for any reason. Been there, done that, 'nuff said…

morenachos said:


 
That's it for now.  Again, I appreciate your help in advance.  Thank you.

 

I always try my best to help and guide new players so as to maximize their TI experience.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 morenachos

morenachos

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:18 PM

 Thanks for the reply.  As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this…

The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have.  One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis.  For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology".  When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites).  So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism?

I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator.  *hurumph*

So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism.

 

Oh my… I hope that makes sense.  Thanks again in advance.  No doubt, more questions coming…  :)



#4 morenachos

morenachos

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:20 PM

Fnoffen said:

 
3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool.  That I get.  So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right?

 

 

 

Correct. However, you should always keep an eye on your Fleet Supply before you build. Also, you shoud always remember that you are not allowed to move ships out of an already activated system. Thus, it is almost always prudent to first move the ships in your home system away before building there as otherwise; A: you won't be able to build as much; and B: you won't be able to use any ships, or other units, left in it when you're finished building.

(unless, of course, you happen to have the Warfare Strategy Card or the Action Card that mimics that Strategy Card's Primary effect)

Yup.  That makes sense.



#5 Priceless

Priceless

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:54 PM

Fnoffy, can you answer on my question in an adjacent forum topic (Questions about localization)?



#6 Kallabecca

Kallabecca

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 04:53 AM

morenachos said:

 Thanks for the reply.  As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this…

The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have.  One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis.  For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology".  When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites).  So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism?

I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator.  *hurumph*

So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism.

 

Oh my… I hope that makes sense.  Thanks again in advance.  No doubt, more questions coming…  :)

If Hyper Metabolism only lists Gen Synthesis as its prerequisite, then no, you don't need to go back and get the prerequisites of the prerequisite.



#7 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:22 AM

Kallabecca said:

morenachos said:

 

 Thanks for the reply.  As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this…

The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have.  One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis.  For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology".  When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites).  So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism?

I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator.  *hurumph*

So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism.

 

Oh my… I hope that makes sense.  Thanks again in advance.  No doubt, more questions coming…  :)

 

 

If Hyper Metabolism only lists Gen Synthesis as its prerequisite, then no, you don't need to go back and get the prerequisites of the prerequisite.

Correct. The prerequisite of any tech are those, and only those, listed on the tech card in question, if any.

However, the Nekro Virus cannot gain ANY technology by way of the Tech Strategy Card as is written on their Race Sheet. Unless they first play the Action Card with the name Cultural Crisis (if memory serves) on themselves.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#8 morenachos

morenachos

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:25 AM

Fnoffen said:

Kallabecca said:

 

morenachos said:

 

 Thanks for the reply.  As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this…

The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have.  One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis.  For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology".  When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites).  So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism?

I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator.  *hurumph*

So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism. 

Oh my… I hope that makes sense.  Thanks again in advance.  No doubt, more questions coming…  :)

 

If Hyper Metabolism only lists Gen Synthesis as its prerequisite, then no, you don't need to go back and get the prerequisites of the prerequisite.

 

 

Correct. The prerequisite of any tech are those, and only those, listed on the tech card in question, if any.

However, the Nekro Virus cannot gain ANY technology by way of the Tech Strategy Card as is written on their Race Sheet. Unless they first play the Action Card with the name Cultural Crisis (if memory serves) on themselves.

Ok, then in that case, if the Nekro Virus player wants to have the tech "Cybernetics", then even though it's one step before something he already has because of his race card - he'd actually need to go all the way back to the top and work down to get it.  That makes sense - but what a great advantage to start with techs which normally require something before it.  That's like starting a foot race already 100 feet ahead of your opponent.  :)



#9 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:17 AM

morenachos said:

Fnoffen said:

 

Kallabecca said:

 

morenachos said:

 

 Thanks for the reply.  As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this…

The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have.  One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis.  For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology".  When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites).  So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism?

I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator.  *hurumph*

So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism. 

Oh my… I hope that makes sense.  Thanks again in advance.  No doubt, more questions coming…  :)

 

If Hyper Metabolism only lists Gen Synthesis as its prerequisite, then no, you don't need to go back and get the prerequisites of the prerequisite.

 

 

Correct. The prerequisite of any tech are those, and only those, listed on the tech card in question, if any.

However, the Nekro Virus cannot gain ANY technology by way of the Tech Strategy Card as is written on their Race Sheet. Unless they first play the Action Card with the name Cultural Crisis (if memory serves) on themselves.

 

 

Ok, then in that case, if the Nekro Virus player wants to have the tech "Cybernetics", then even though it's one step before something he already has because of his race card - he'd actually need to go all the way back to the top and work down to get it.  That makes sense - but what a great advantage to start with techs which normally require something before it.  That's like starting a foot race already 100 feet ahead of your opponent.  :)

Actually, if the Nekro player wants the Cybernetics tech, all he needs to do is start a combat with another player who already owns it and kill at least one of that players units.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#10 Aeonim

Aeonim

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 01:57 AM

morenachos said:

 My fellow Speakers,

I have only played TI once before and I don't think the guy running it had much of a clue.  Recently, I got ahold of the game for myself and have set it up in an attempt to learn it on my own, so I can teach it to others.  On a side note, I really enjoy massive, epic, complex games - which TI is at the top of the list.

Anywho, on with my questions.  I did search the forums and the multiple FAQs, but nothing helped.  I appreciate your assistance as I crawl through the mound of rules.

 

1. The rulebook states in step 11 of the set-up, that all players start with 3 Command Counters in the Fleet Supply.  The Fleet supply dictates how big a fleet can be in any given system.  However, on round one some of the races are in violation already.  For example, The Nekro Virus starts with 1 Space Dock, 2 Cruisers and a Carrier as ships.  That's four.  Do Space Docks count as a "ship"?  If so, how does this work?

 

2. During the Status Phase, each player receives 2 Command Tokens.  Is he allowed to put BOTH in the same Area?  …or does this not really matter because the very next step allows you to 'reorganize' the counters…?

 

3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool.  That I get.  So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right?

 

4. Being that Mercenaries (SotT) count as part of your fleet limit, is it best to let them float around space on their own so you collect their benefit - or are they better to have with your fleet because of their Evasion tactic?  I am trying to figure out how best to use them.

 

That's it for now.  Again, I appreciate your help in advance.  Thank you.

 

1: Space Docks are not ships. They do not count against Fleet Limits. They're always on planets. Saar Space Docks do not count against Fleet Limits while in Space.

2: Anytime you gain Command Counters you can put them wherever you wish. Allowing you to get more Strategic Actions per round as well as increasing the Fleet Limit. The Reorganisation-Step simply allows you to tweak the dials a bit further. In case of a law restricting you from reorganization, the only way to increase Fleet Limits and gaining new Strategy-Counters, is by distributing the Counters you receive.

3: Correct. Though usually you will want to explore some nearby system before locking your units in your home-system by building there. Especially with you strict Fleet Limit and starting Fleets often being right at the cap of it already.

4: Trial and error. We didn't play with Mercs yet, since I was giving introduction rounds for months to add to the number of possible new players and kept down on the most complex extra-rules. Some merchs work better alone, others are better in fleets. Battle-Merchs with low Fleet protection give statistically neglectable benefit with their evasion.



#11 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:10 AM

Nice rewrites of my answers, Aeonim. Always good to make sure an answer is understood correctly.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS