Jump to content



Photo

memory


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 godmiles

godmiles

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:08 AM

If your memory is full, and you play the card Daemon, what happens? Assuming at least 1 point of memory is not an icebreaker.



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,175 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:08 AM

If you have no memory you would need to trash programs to free up memory to be able to install Djinn. Cards already installed cannot be moved to Djinn so it would not free up any memory by simply playing Djinn.



#3 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:13 AM

 For clarity's sake, I'll point out that the card you're talking about is called Djinn.  (Daemon is one of its subtypes.)



#4 nanozach

nanozach

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:32 AM

 I disagree based on page 15 right side paragraph 2 in the rules:

“If the MU costs of the Runner’s installed programs ever exceed his available MU, he must trash his installed programs until he is no longer exceeding his available MU.”

To me this, (as well as the surrounding text for context… go home troll) imply that the program can be installed but you must immediately resolve memory issues. The card immediately gives you more memory. There is no clarification on timing when two issues take place at the same time (immediately) by the same player, and I see nothing saying you can not install a program is you don’t have enough memory, just that you have to resolve afterwards. I agree its confusing, so an FAQ entry would be nice, but I would rule you can play it (I’m no one official).



#5 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:17 AM

 I think you're not actually disagreeing: Djinn is installed, which doesn't give you more MU, but DOES give you the ability to install non-icebreakers on Djinn rather than in your rig.

If your installation of Djinn takes you above your maximum MU, the very next thing you must do is trash programs to bring you into compliance with your MU limit.



#6 Butaman551

Butaman551

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

nanozach said:

 

 I disagree based on page 15 right side paragraph 2 in the rules:

“If the MU costs of the Runner’s installed programs ever exceed his available MU, he must trash his installed programs until he is no longer exceeding his available MU.”

To me this, (as well as the surrounding text for context… go home troll) imply that the program can be installed but you must immediately resolve memory issues. The card immediately gives you more memory. There is no clarification on timing when two issues take place at the same time (immediately) by the same player, and I see nothing saying you can not install a program is you don’t have enough memory, just that you have to resolve afterwards. I agree its confusing, so an FAQ entry would be nice, but I would rule you can play it (I’m no one official).

 

 

 

Djinn does not "immediately give you memory". It gives you a pool of memory you can use to install new programs (non-icebreakers only) with, but only if they are being hosted on Djinn. The FAQ also cleared up that you can not move installed programs around once installed. The only way to get programs installed onto Djinn would be to install them directly onto Djinn. You can't install it and then move programs onto it. So Toqtamish is correct. In order to install Djinn if you were already at max memory would be to trash something first (or like you said, install Djinn and then immediately trash something else because you are now over your max memory allotment.). 

One way or another, something is getting trashed to make room for Djinn.


  • nanozach likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS