Jump to content



Photo

Lieutenant Defeated with Relic


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 chuntastic

chuntastic

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:33 PM

Page 22 of the rulebook says if a Lieutenant with a relic is defeated its abilities are ignored. Does that still apply if the scenario resurrects the Lieutenant?



#2 Triu

Triu

    Member

  • Members
  • 204 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 02:36 PM

Good question. My first reaction is that if the Lt. comes back, so does the wielded relic.

Page 22, Relics: "The overlord version of a relic may be wielded by any lieutenant, and this is the only way the relic’s abilities can be used by the overlord. If the overlord has no lieutenant in a given quest, or if he opts to leave his relic behind (see below), he receives no benefit for the relic’s abilities. Each lieutenant can wield only one relic.

During the setup step of each quest, the overlord chooses which relic (if any) each of his lieutenants wields during the quest. Place the chosen Relic card next to the Lieutenant card. If the relic is not wielded by a lieutenant, the overlord keeps the card near his Overlord deck and its abilities are ignored during this quest. If a lieutenant wielding a relic is defeated during a quest, the abilities of that relic are ignored for the remainder of the quest but the overlord keeps the relic."

It does sound like you can't reassign the relic to a different Lt. during the quest, if you had more bosses than relics, but if it's the same one … 

Strictly by RAW, however, I'd say no.

 



#3 Schmiegel

Schmiegel

    Member

  • Members
  • 268 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:07 PM

 I would agree that when the Lt. comes back, the relic comes back with him as well. I think this particular encounter is an exception to the general rule since in most if not all other cases, a defeated Lt. does not return. If a hero wielding a relic is defeated, the relic would return with the hero when the hero is revived or stands up. 



#4 chuntastic

chuntastic

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 October 2012 - 11:49 AM

Also if the lieutenant does come back there is an issue with the Bones of Woe relic. Most scenarios have the Lieutenant revive at the start of the turn but Bones of Woe is also at the start of the turn. Does the Overlord get to choose in which order to resolve the start of turn effects?



#5 Wrapped

Wrapped

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 25 October 2012 - 11:29 AM

This is also discussed in another thread somewhere.

If the LT reinforces with the relic that would make it almost impossible to get rid of the relic (and this rule to apply). Only by defeating the LT and completing the quest in the same round would do that.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS